Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2021, 12:05 PM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 478
Default Pitch question

I knew this once, but...

What the best way or best plug-in to pitch something up an octave AND have it play twice as fast--like a tape recorder would?

Thanks--
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 128 GB RAM, Mac OS Big Sur, Samsung EVO SSD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2021, 01:22 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: Pitch question

Just shooting from the hip, here; export file as half sample rate, and re-import without convert sample rate?
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2021, 04:32 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,740
Default Re: Pitch question

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeOtherGuy View Post
I knew this once, but...

What the best way or best plug-in to pitch something up an octave AND have it play twice as fast--like a tape recorder would?

Thanks--
You could do it with Falcon using it's pitch and time shifting sampling capabilities. Pull the file into one of Falcon's sampling algo's and have at it.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2021, 04:49 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: Pitch question

I just tried what I suggested before; Select whole-file in clip bin, export in clip bin menu, set sample rate to half. Import the file, in import options click"add" not "convert", you get a warning that it will play back at wrong speed, which is exactly what we want. Couldn't be simpler.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2021, 05:36 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,555
Default Re: Pitch question

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeOtherGuy View Post
I knew this once, but...

What the best way or best plug-in to pitch something up an octave AND have it play twice as fast--like a tape recorder would?

Thanks--
Use Elastic Audio on “varispeed” and set the "TCE Factor" to 50%. Much easier than all the faffing that other people are describing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2021, 12:12 AM
simonchase simonchase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 360
Default Re: Pitch question

Use the "Pitch Shift Legacy" plug-in, included with Pro Tools. But make sure you uncheck the "TIME CORRECTION" box in the middle of the plug-in.
__________________
PT Ultimate 2021.7.0 - MacOS 11.5.2 - MacBook Pro (Late 2019) - 2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9 - 64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4 - Apogee Quartet
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-16-2021, 10:11 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 576
Default Re: Pitch question

The included Time Shift plugin has a varispeed algorithm. No need to export or use 3rd party tools.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-16-2021, 10:24 AM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 478
Default Re: Pitch question

Great, thanks a lot everyone...
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 128 GB RAM, Mac OS Big Sur, Samsung EVO SSD
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2021, 05:31 PM
matchmix matchmix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Regina Canada
Posts: 16
Default Re: Pitch question

I use elastic pitch for that
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-17-2021, 06:16 AM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,590
Default Re: Pitch question

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
Use Elastic Audio on “varispeed” and set the "TCE Factor" to 50%. Much easier than all the faffing that other people are describing.

+1
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2021.7
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Pitch Question Wavelabs Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 04-21-2011 08:57 PM
Elastic Pitch Question RichrdC Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 7 01-24-2010 08:03 PM
elastic Pitch Question DonaldM Tips & Tricks 9 05-26-2009 06:48 PM
Pitch Question!! Rampage 14 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-03-2006 12:31 PM
Pitch Shift Question Kakalaka Koffee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 04-30-2002 10:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com