Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2020, 04:15 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 817
Default Atmos 7.1.4 with Avid 8x8x8

I've been using my 8x8x8 interface for a 7.1.4 rig with the DAPS and send return plugins.
I have the 7.1 on AES outputs and the 4 height channels as analogue.
It works fine.


Now I'm looking at using the Dolby Audio Bridge configuration, which seems a much simpler and hopefully less resource intensive method and would translate more easily to a big room mix with an Atmos renderer.
I can get it to work, but the first 4 channels of my digital out are duplicated on the analogue outputs of the 8x8x8. The HD Native Thunderbolt driver doesn't seem to see the Analogue outputs as separate routing paths and there's seemingly no way to adjust your Avid interface once you are in the Native domain.

Has anyone else come across this or have a work around. Does it mean I will have to buy a new interface to get this method to work?
I've been following Alan Sallabanks videos on PTE and he has no problems with his Focusrite 16, but he's not using it in PT Native mode, he uses the thunderbolt connections.
I don't particularly want to shell out 2.5 grand on a new interface when I 'supposedly' have a 16 channel one already.
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 10.15.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, PT Dock, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2021.6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2020, 04:25 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,821
Default Re: Atmos 7.1.4 with Avid 8x8x8

I'm using a 192 but I'm curious why your analogue outputs are duplicated and you can't do something like this?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2020-05-20 at 3.51.56 PM.jpg (40.4 KB, 0 views)
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2020, 03:29 PM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 817
Default Re: Atmos 7.1.4 with Avid 8x8x8

Hi Ryan,
That is how I have the 8x8x8 setup in PT.
Can you get 16 outs from your 192 using the HD Native core audio driver?
Thanks
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 10.15.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, PT Dock, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2021.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid HD IO 8x8x8, and digital IO SLK Buy & Sell 0 10-22-2018 05:01 PM
Anyone using Avid HD i/o 8x8x8 with S1? Whitepoem General Discussion 2 12-15-2015 06:55 AM
FS: Avid HD I/O 8x8x8 Rick Breen Buy & Sell 7 03-05-2014 08:15 PM
Avid 8x8x8 + Adat Bridge 24? csa produktion Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 07-24-2012 10:10 AM
FS: Avid HD 8x8x8 and D/A card doug_hti Buy & Sell 2 07-06-2012 05:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com