Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2010, 08:49 AM
chrislp chrislp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default Pro Tools 8 doesn't install *FULLY*

I have installed PT8 and its working with my Mbox 2.

I'm on XP....SP2, Intel Processor pretty common or 'standard' PC if there is such a thing.

I can make sessions, run my OWN 3rd party plugins, but the native PT EQ, Bomb Factory, Reverbs, all those have not installed.

The installation process stops about 10% complete on the green block bar. Right at Documentation on ''Pro Tools Reference Guide.pdf'' and then the install wizard shuts down. Hardware drivers work also.

I am not too sure about Audiosuite working either, but is this a common error?

Here is the screen of what happens before completion..

http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f2...uuuuuuuk-2.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2010, 09:03 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,146
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 doesn't install *FULLY*

a "pretty standard" PC means nothing when it comes to compatibility. See this:
Help us help you - what you need to know before posting!
and follow the Compatibility Information link


post a Sandra report and we may spot a problem. Sometimes the problem is as simple as buying a new firewire card, other times, the motherboard is just not compatible. Also, IE8 is a known issue so if you have that, go back to IE7. PT8 wants to see Service Pack 3 anyway. You also need to follow the install instructions to the letter(if you just popped in the disc and let Windows try to do the automatic install, that will fail). The PT8 disc includes an uninstall utility and I would run that and start fresh, once you find out if your computer is compatible.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2010, 06:00 AM
chrislp chrislp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 doesn't install *FULLY*

Quote:
SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Dell Dimension 5100
Workgroup : MSHOME
Host Name : chris-3acecaff3
User : Chris

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
Speed : 3GHz
Cores per Processor : 1 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Integrated Data Cache : 16kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache : 1MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 lines per sector, 2 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : Dell 0J8885
BIOS : Dell A02 11/08/2005
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 1GB DIMM DDR2

Chipset
Model : Dell 82945G Processor to I/O Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 200MHz (800MHz)
Total Memory : 1GB DIMM DDR2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 200MHz (400MHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Micron 8HTF3264AY-40EB3 256MB DIMM DDR2 PC2-3200U DDR2-400 (3-3-3-8 2-11-3-2)
Memory Module : Micron 8HTF3264AY-40EB3 256MB DIMM DDR2 PC2-3200U DDR2-400 (3-3-3-8 2-11-3-2)
Memory Module : Micron 8HTF3264AY-40EB3 256MB DIMM DDR2 PC2-3200U DDR2-400 (3-3-3-8 2-11-3-2)
Memory Module : Micron 8HTF3264AY-40EB3 256MB DIMM DDR2 PC2-3200U DDR2-400 (3-3-3-8 2-11-3-2)

Video System
Video Adapter : ATI Radeon X300/X550/X1050 Series (4 PS2.0, 2 VS2.0 324MHz, 32MB 297MHz, PCIe 1.00 x16)

Storage Devices
Maxtor 7L250S0 (250GB, SATA150, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 233GB (C:)
Samsung CF Card CF (USB) : N/A (F:)
Samsung MS Card MS (USB) : N/A (G:)
Samsung SD Card MMC/SD (USB) : N/A (H:)
Samsung SM/XD Card SM (USB) : N/A (I:)
PHILIPS DVD+/-RW DVD8701 (ATA33, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (D:)
TGRYLE DMZ4LE74H (SCSI, BD-R, HD-DVD-R, DVD+-R-DL, CD-R) : N/A (K:)
GI0143Q DSD236T (SCSI, DVD+-R-DL, CD-R) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 233GB (NTFS) @ Maxtor 7L250S0 (250GB, SATA150, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ PHILIPS DVD+/-RW DVD8701 (ATA33, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
Optical Drive (K:) : N/A @ TGRYLE DMZ4LE74H (SCSI, BD-R, HD-DVD-R, DVD+-R-DL, CD-R)
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ GI0143Q DSD236T (SCSI, DVD+-R-DL, CD-R)
Removable Drive (F:) : N/A @ Samsung CF Card CF (USB)
Removable Drive (G:) : N/A @ Samsung MS Card MS (USB)
Removable Drive (H:) : N/A @ Samsung SD Card MMC/SD (USB)
Removable Drive (I:) : N/A @ Samsung SM/XD Card SM (USB)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Intel 82801GB/GR (ICH7) LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : SMSC SCH5504-NS
Audio Device : Dell 82801G (ICH7) High Definition Audio
Audio Codec : Sigmatel 7680h
Disk Controller : Dell 82801G (ICH7) Ultra ATA Storage Controller
Disk Controller : Dell 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7) Serial ATA Storage Controller
USB Controller 1 : Dell 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Dell 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 3 : Dell 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 4 : Dell 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 5 : Dell 82801G (ICH7) USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft Office Document Image Writer Driver (200x200)
Printer : Dell Photo Printer 720 (4800x1200, USB, Colour)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection - Packet Scheduler Miniport (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP Home 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 3)
Platform Compliance : x86
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2010, 06:44 AM
TCM's Avatar
TCM TCM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,513
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 doesn't install *FULLY*

I assume you use PT8 (please clarify which version):

1. Ram of 1 GB is really the absolute minimum!
2. You also may run into problems because of your CPU.
3. Only one hard drive! You need an additional one just for audio.

Otherwise listen to albee, fresh install!
__________________
002R BLA mod and Mbox mini 2, PT 11.3.2,
HD Native, HD IO 16x8x8, PT 2018.7, Win 10 Pro 64, Asrock X99 Extreme6/3.1, i7-6850K, 32 GB Ram, SSD system drive, ssd audio drive
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2010, 07:18 AM
chrislp chrislp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 doesn't install *FULLY*

This will be my 10th clean install.


Yea I know I'm on minimum ram...it's cheap as hell though.... and yea I have a separate HDD


My main is my Macbook but this is just being installed because I have a few PC plugins I want to use
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2010, 07:46 AM
Brad Hillman Brad Hillman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 10
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 doesn't install *FULLY*

On my PC, I had to stop Kensington Mouse Works for my trackball. Open task manager and end the process of kmw.run.dll.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-22-2010, 09:36 AM
chrislp chrislp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 doesn't install *FULLY*

Don't have it installed and the process isn't there anyway.

It's always the Documentation 'Pro Tools Reference Guide' that screws it up

then I get that error message from the first post
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-22-2010, 03:17 PM
chrislp chrislp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 doesn't install *FULLY*

It's ok now....found a great workaround.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2010, 03:23 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,382
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 doesn't install *FULLY*

Please enlighten us.

Someone else with a similar issue may benefit from your experience.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-22-2010, 04:21 PM
chrislp chrislp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 doesn't install *FULLY*

Really?? Ok?

I downloaded a repackaged installer on the internet and used my serial keys and codes to register/authenticate....

Well, I had already registered since I got it partially working a few weeks ago.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First install of Pro Tools 9 - Logic 9 already installed - PlugIn install questions b-pole macOS 2 08-31-2011 07:23 AM
Problems loading Pro-tools 7 cant even get fully installed to eventually upgrade to 8 beau012 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-14-2010 10:09 PM
Pro-Tools Won't Fully Load 002- DAE blackstarmusic85 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-27-2007 08:30 PM
Pro Tools doesn't fully load codajohn Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 12-06-2006 09:06 AM
Anyone using Logic and Pro Tools in OSX FULLY?? modul8tr Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 06-25-2003 11:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com