Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-20-2009, 09:00 PM
Stixxs Stixxs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 160
Default Used G5 2.7GHz for ProTools8/003 rig?

Hi All,

I'm doing the switch to ProTools from Cubase and been looking at the iMac's etc. then figured used might be the route to go, I'm recording 3 piece bands and singer/songwriters, minimal samples but plugin heavy.

Will a G5 2.7GHz Dual Core with say 4 GB of ram Tiger or Leopard run PT's 8 and a 003 factory ok? I understand Snow Leopard is causing problems currently.

thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-20-2009, 09:16 PM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Re: Used G5 2.7GHz for ProTools8/003 rig?

if the G5 is PPC (and not Intel based) it's a dead end Apple no longer supports it (no Snow Leopard)... and Digi from here on out isn't either

It's a stable machine... but you are pretty much stuck

but we could commiserate together!
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-20-2009, 09:33 PM
Stixxs Stixxs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 160
Default Re: Used G5 2.7GHz for ProTools8/003 rig?

Hey thanks, The commiserate is too funny.

This is great Snow Leopard isn't quite there yet and the old G5's not Intel.

Are the current G5's Intel based for future Digi advances?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-20-2009, 10:20 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Used G5 2.7GHz for ProTools8/003 rig?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stixxs View Post

Are the current G5's Intel based for future Digi advances?
There are no current G5's......The Intel based Mac Pro made from 2006 on up is currently supported and will be into the conceivable future.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-21-2009, 08:22 AM
Stixxs Stixxs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 160
Default Re: Used G5 2.7GHz for ProTools8/003 rig?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
There are no current G5's......The Intel based Mac Pro made from 2006 on up is currently supported and will be into the conceivable future.
Sorry meant the Mac Pro.

There are a few of the G5 Dual 27.Ghz machines on ebay currently.
This http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...:X:RTQ:US:1123

It's a 64bit machine ( loaded w/ Leopard) according to the seller. but as "stainless" mentioned these won't accept Snow Leopard (64bit software). To get this right "when" Digi ups LE to 64bit this will be obsolete then. Correct?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual G5 2.7Ghz, 4Gb RAM, and still my song won't play. synchaotica 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 09-22-2010 08:33 PM
Dual 2.7GHz G5 Hardware conflict. Sunzate Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-17-2008 11:38 AM
Internal Hard drives for G5 Dual 2.7GHz toneski Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 04-07-2008 08:02 AM
Best second internal hard drive in G5 Dual 2,7GHz Labyrinth Services Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-31-2006 05:37 AM
Pentium 4 1.7ghz Badooker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 09-23-2001 11:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com