Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2006, 02:04 PM
GlennR01 GlennR01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 253
Default Odd Midi/Virtual Instrument Problems with PT7+

I sorted thru prior posts and have not seen an issue exactly like the one I am having. I have disabled the multi-processor function for RTAS plugs. When using an instrument track with midi and any virtual instrument, then overdubbing on a different instrument track with a different virtual instrument, the original track & vi will sound when the midi keyboard is played, even though the original track is not in record and on a different midi channel. I am now going back to using midi tracks with separate aux returns. Although this option works more reliably for this issue than using instrument tracks, until I actually engage record in the second midi track, the active keyboard will play midi into the first midi track and sound notes thru the first virtual instrument even though that midi track is not in record.

Yes, I have had inputs assigned to the instrument track (as per the workaround described by Digidesign in their Read Me).

This one has me baffled. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Mac Pro 2013 2.7GHz 12 Core 128GB • Mac OS 10.5.5 • PT Ultimate 2020.5.0 • PT HDX3 • 192 IO x 8 • D-Control 32 Fader • UAD2 Octo Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2006, 02:24 PM
Ray Lyon Ray Lyon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Waynesville, NC
Posts: 744
Default Re: Odd Midi/Virtual Instrument Problems with PT7+

You might have the MIDI pref checked that enables MIDI thru upon track selection... try changing that pref to when the channel is put into record... hope this helps...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2006, 02:28 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: Odd Midi/Virtual Instrument Problems with PT7+

Glenn,

From the "What's New in HD 7.0.pdf" - page 62

Also, Pro Tools Reference Guide - page 189

You have discovered a new (very much wanted) feature -- in that you can use the selected midi track as your midi thru - even if it's not record enabled. This is an OPTION that you can select (or change or disable if you hate it - I love it).

You really should read the "what's new in PT7" docs -- you'll discover a lot and this kind of stuff won't hang you up.

oops--- Ray got the answer out before I could finish typing. Good job!
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2006, 06:43 PM
GlennR01 GlennR01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 253
Default Re: Odd Midi/Virtual Instrument Problems with PT7+

Gentlemen, much embarassment here - I'm usually the first to recommend the manual, but apparently the last to take my own advice. In skimming thru the "What's New" manual, I didn't grasp the major signal re-routing that the simple "midi thru" would make.

So, now Jeremy, what do you use it for and why do you love it so much? I guess I don't see the use for it, but it might be the way I use my rig. And thanks Ray.
__________________
Mac Pro 2013 2.7GHz 12 Core 128GB • Mac OS 10.5.5 • PT Ultimate 2020.5.0 • PT HDX3 • 192 IO x 8 • D-Control 32 Fader • UAD2 Octo Ultimate
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Instrument Problems TheMusiKing93 Pro Tools 10 5 01-18-2012 04:17 PM
Pro Tools 8 virtual instrument problems kimballob 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 06-02-2009 11:40 AM
A.I.R. Virtual Instrument Boxset Problems sinlum Virtual Instruments 4 12-18-2007 11:51 AM
Virtual instrument latency problems!!!!! ScottFB Virtual Instruments 6 07-23-2007 09:22 AM
Virtual Instrument Recording Problems AdrianLesher Virtual Instruments 0 11-18-2006 11:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com