Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2013, 11:42 AM
Liquid Sound Liquid Sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Default Two clips, shorter one under - how to reveal it?

Hello guys! I have an elementary question, but I haven't been able to find a satisfying answer so far and none of my PT friends helped.

The easiest example in PT10 on Mac...

Let's say, I have two clips in one track and playlist. One is a second long and the other one ten seconds long. When I grab the long one over the other and drop it there, the short one is hidden under the long one. How can I reveal the short one back?

I tried Send to Back & Bring to Front functions and no result. Of course I tried to use a grab tool and move the long one back, but it takes the short one as well. Is the short one "lost"? I know it is in the clip list, but I would have to drag it there manually.

How can I even find out, that there is a clip under the visible clip?

The real situation is that I accidentally pressed D with command+S and some clips were laid over the others and then I did some other record, so I couldn't undo. I had to use a .ptx backup after the session. So I am looking for some easy solution for next time.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2013, 02:33 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Two clips, shorter one under - how to reveal it?

That's a good question, and I don't have a good answer, nor do I find myself in that particular situation, like... ever. But, I would switch to Spot mode, and then drag the shorter clip back into the playlist from the Clips list.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2013, 03:25 AM
Liquid Sound Liquid Sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Two clips, shorter one under - how to reveal it?

Thanks for answer, but imagine you have a group of 48 audio tracks to solve with different start times, fades, crossfades, etc. It is impossible to drag everything back from clip list. Wondering how the clips were set would take maybe more time, than to create everything again from raw (unedited) takes.

I am looking for a way, how to remove the visible clip or push the one under. If it is even possible... Any other idea?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2013, 04:49 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Two clips, shorter one under - how to reveal it?

I totally understand what you're saying. The problem is that Send to back/Bring to front only works for visible (neighboring) clips. When you completely cover a clip with a larger clip, the smaller one effectively disappears from the playlist.

I use the command Save as whenever I'm about to make big changes, and sometimes I also edit on a duplicate playlist.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2013, 04:55 AM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,902
Default Re: Two clips, shorter one under - how to reveal it?

Once a region covers up another region entirely the first is gone from the timeline.

But you always have a chance to retrieve accidentally lost stuff by importing those tracks from one of the automatically created backups in the session file backups folder.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2014, 07:32 AM
bassmagnetic bassmagnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 102
Default Re: Two clips, shorter one under - how to reveal it?

Liquid Sound: did you find any workaround for this behavior? Seems crazy that extending a clip over another then moving it back results in a deleted clip off the timeline.... is there no option to allow overlapping parts like it most other DAWs?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exporting Clips as WAVs, clips dont highlight in list gigantorbuzz Pro Tools 10 6 08-05-2013 01:07 PM
Cross fades are not between clips but at the end or beginning of clips phatbeatstudio Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 09-10-2012 02:08 AM
Reveal all automation? digidesigner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 12-23-2009 08:09 PM
Monitors , tannoy reveal . seared music 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-11-2003 06:40 AM
tannoy reveal............anyone???? jason66213 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-26-2001 04:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com