Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-24-2022, 12:56 PM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 398
Default ?? Ghost Vocal ??

Somehow on one of my Projects there is what I would call a Ghost Vocal.. I've searched every way I can think of to isolate it including muting every Channel.. But it's still there??

Any idea where it's coming from & how I can eliminate it?

I'm using a 2012 MacBookPro & PT10.. OSX is the OS.. Is there any other info I can provide to be more helpful??

Thanks,

L
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2022, 01:15 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,818
Default Re: ?? Ghost Vocal ??

Hi,

Can you post a screenshot that shows all your tracks?

Thanks,
Tope

Quote:
Originally Posted by larsongs View Post
Somehow on one of my Projects there is what I would call a Ghost Vocal.. I've searched every way I can think of to isolate it including muting every Channel.. But it's still there??

Any idea where it's coming from & how I can eliminate it?

I'm using a 2012 MacBookPro & PT10.. OSX is the OS.. Is there any other info I can provide to be more helpful??

Thanks,

L
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2022, 04:13 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,799
Default Re: ?? Ghost Vocal ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Hi,
Can you post a screenshot that shows all your tracks?
Thanks,
Tope
Usually, when people do that on the duc, the resolution is so low that it's useless. People usually resort to dropbox or some other service.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-24-2022, 05:26 PM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 398
Default Re: ?? Ghost Vocal ??

Right Side of Screen Shot..

Screen Shot (right) 2022-07-24 at 4.00.51 PM.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-24-2022, 05:30 PM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 398
Default Re: ?? Ghost Vocal ??

Left Side of Project Screen Shot..

Thanks,

L

Screen Shot (left) 2022-07-24 at 4.28.26 PM.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-24-2022, 07:26 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,969
Default Re: ?? Ghost Vocal ??

Yep, pretty useless fuzzy screenshots. DUC's cheap and nasty image downsampling settings makes all this frequently useless.

But there is not going to be any mystery or bug here or much others can do for you. You have to find it yourself, and likely if you are having trouble finding it you might be misunderstanding the Pro Tools signal flow, so test/experiment if in doubt/to understand that flow.

First make sure there are no hidden tracks, that's the easiest stuff.

You going though muting tracks.. but any pre fade sends won't be muted (post fade will). This is a common cause for problems like this. And plugins are not muted, they still process signals... which in some cases (more VI ones) can cause confusion.

So when you mute all tracks you still hear stuff? That will be sends messing with you.

If debugging all the sends/bussing is getting too much for you you can make tracks inactive which absolutely stops them playing anything off disk. A binary search there should be relatively quick, find the spot where the ghost vocal is, disable half the tracks, disable half those if it still appears, enable half the disabled tracks if it does not. etc. Also just attacking this from a bus viewpoint might help, e.g. going though and muting all sends to busses etc until a particular bus is totally quiet should help.. then go to the next bus and repeat until you find a bus the ghost vocal is on... it's likely not coming from a direct track if you have muted them all.

Edit: got all confused writing about the bus suggestion, I meant listen to each bus separately (assign it to an output by itself and listen to that bus) and if you hear it on that bus then go mute the sends and tracks going to the bus.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 07-24-2022 at 11:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-24-2022, 11:03 PM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 398
Default Re: ?? Ghost Vocal ??

I've tried some of the things you’ve mentioned.. I’ll try the others you mentioned & see..

Thanks

L
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-25-2022, 09:35 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,452
Default Re: ?? Ghost Vocal ??

Do you have Melodyne in the session?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-25-2022, 12:26 PM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 398
Default Re: ?? Ghost Vocal ??

What is Melodyne? I do have Nord 5D73 Keyboard & a live Piano Track...

I tuened off Comp, EQ, DEsser, Rev, Delay, Chorus & every Plug-in. First, one at a time.. Then played each idvidually & Listened to see if it made a difference.. It didn't...

Then all of a sudden for no reason I can come up with the Ghost Vocal was gone??? So I quickly Bouced the Mix to a Stereo Mix Bounce Track..

Haven't checked yet today to see what surprise might be in store... I'll let you all know..

Thanks,

L
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-25-2022, 05:31 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,452
Default Re: ?? Ghost Vocal ??

Hmmm, in any case, if you don't know what Melodyne is, then you don't have it Another possibility; a track that you mute keeps un-muting because of automation. Hope you get it sorted
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ghost for Mac plugset 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-12-2006 10:04 AM
Norton Ghost [OT] Steve Moore 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 11-11-2003 04:03 PM
Soundcraft Ghost Obscene 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-10-2003 10:28 AM
The Ghost of 5.0.1 Peterjk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-04-2002 01:37 AM
Still got a ghost terrydrums General Discussion 4 04-23-2002 12:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com