Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2010, 03:37 PM
geekkiller geekkiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default 003 rack comp build. Need some info...

Building new pc for a 003. Digi web site old info. I will be using XP for now untill 7 is stable. Protools 8.0.3. Going to run Intel Quad (I7?). 2 WD 32mbdrives. 4MB ram. Digi approved firewire. I need to know which motherboards from ASUS and GIGABYTE are soild choices. Looking for 3m/b transfer. I am going to be mixing large track numbers and using lot of plugs plus midi drum replacement. Just looking for info on a rock soild set up. Any info will be much apprecated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2010, 04:34 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,710
Default Re: 003 rack comp build. Need some info...

Almost any motherboard with the x58 chipset(and NO onboard graphics) should work fine. Stay at 8.0.1 with the appropriate cs updates for now. Youy might want to look at mobo's that offer triple channel mode and going with 6 gig of RAM(triple should be faster than dual channel RAM). Yes, the system will only "see" around 3.25gig, but you are future-proofed for 64 bit.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2010, 05:34 PM
geekkiller geekkiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: 003 rack comp build. Need some info...

If i dont go with an I series and just go quad do i still go x58chipset.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2010, 07:32 PM
geekkiller geekkiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: 003 rack comp build. Need some info...

Is there a moderator affiliated with avid here that could give me an answer...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2010, 01:24 AM
MrBlack MrBlack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 65
Default Re: 003 rack comp build. Need some info...

Just beware of what DVD drive you install - I built what you are about to build about a year ago - kept getting intermittent DAE errors and other weird issues which gradually got worse and worse up to a few weeks ago when PT was unusable - anyway disconnected the NEC DVD drive, Pro Tools has been solid since.
__________________
003R - PT 11.0.3 - MAC Mini - SSD for OS & 2nd Internal Hard Drive for Recording - 16GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-17-2010, 01:39 AM
Mork_ Mork_ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 119
Default Re: 003 rack comp build. Need some info...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBlack View Post
- anyway disconnected the NEC DVD drive, Pro Tools has been solid since.
Was it an EIDE or SATA interface?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2010, 05:11 AM
MrBlack MrBlack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 65
Default Re: 003 rack comp build. Need some info...

SATA -

From the invoice :

NEC DVD± RW burner AD-7200S, 20x, SATA,
DVD+ R/+ RW/DVD-R/-RW/Ram, Black (bulk)
__________________
003R - PT 11.0.3 - MAC Mini - SSD for OS & 2nd Internal Hard Drive for Recording - 16GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-17-2010, 03:54 PM
geekkiller geekkiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: 003 rack comp build. Need some info...

ok i know if im goin X58 ill go gigbyte Ex58-ud3r or asus, thats with I7
my question is if i use an intel Q8200 quad what motherboard to go with.
Will G31 based board work. if so what model. or do i go P45 if so what model..
This seems like it takes alot of work for protools to run on windows. I am switching from mac tdm to win le and HD. almost thinkin about g5 i want to record not build a spaceship......
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-17-2010, 05:21 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: 003 rack comp build. Need some info...

Quote:
Originally Posted by geekkiller View Post
Is there a moderator affiliated with avid here that could give me an answer...
lol
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-18-2010, 09:55 AM
geekkiller geekkiller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: 003 rack comp build. Need some info...

Can anyone here give me some more info.. I dont need to run 415 dverbs. i dont even use dverb... Just some info on some soild system( motherboard/ processor) combinations optoins would be great...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Point me to current PC build info? blizzard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 12-06-2012 03:03 PM
Build a "live session" on your comp BTGR&P VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 10-20-2009 07:56 PM
Major comp. problem - considering reverting to 002 rack instead 003 rack, good move? Tbassist4 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-15-2009 04:20 PM
Need Info To Build New AMD System For PT 7.0 finalcut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 11-11-2005 06:10 AM
PT/PC INFO NEEDED TO BUILD A AFFORDABLE COMPUTER producermick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-27-2002 10:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com