Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2010, 05:01 PM
Violet Violet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 526
Default Is it sonically destructive to convert 32bit .wav files to 24bit .wav?

I'm rendering files in Reaper from my VI's to export into Pro Tools to mix.

The problem is PT only does 16bit and 24bit sessions correct? And for some reason Reaper 64bit only renders 32bit files. I'm on their forum right now trying to see how in the heck I can render them at 24bit.

But in the mean time I'm just curious does it dirty up the audio file to convert 32bit .wav files to 24bit .wav?
__________________
PT 9.0.3
Windows 7 64 bit, 2x i7 PCs, 24GB, 3 SSD's, 5 HD's
....and a couple other toys.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2010, 05:06 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Is it sonically destructive to convert 32bit .wav files to 24bit .wav?

Can you dither down from 32 bit in Reaper to 24 bit?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2010, 06:14 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,508
Default Re: Is it sonically destructive to convert 32bit .wav files to 24bit .wav?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet View Post
Reaper 64bit only renders 32bit files.
This setting is in the Project Settings window, and you can also choose 24-bit when you render or consolidate/export.

I didn't try 64-bit Reaper, but that should still be the same.

And no, you won't lose anything by going to 24-bit.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2010, 06:55 PM
ondruspat ondruspat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lansing, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,142
Default Re: Is it sonically destructive to convert 32bit .wav files to 24bit .wav?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
And no, you won't lose anything by going to 24-bit.
We will probably have some math nerd pop in and argue that point!!

But in all practical listening your not losing anything.

Look at it this way, is your listening experience degraded by listening to a 16-bit CD?? The extra bit depth helps more in the area of processing effects and summing than in what you actually hear (another point someone will argue), and it will likely be dithered down to the 16-bit realm in the end anyway.
__________________
"Sometimes having limits keeps you sane"- Albee1952
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2010, 07:51 PM
Mr. Kelly Mr. Kelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Newton, MA 02458
Posts: 255
Default Re: Is it sonically destructive to convert 32bit .wav files to 24bit .wav?

My thought is that you may hear a difference going from 32 to 24 bit, however small. You can hear a difference b/w 24 and 16. I would think that anytime you reduce bits you would lose resolution, no?

Plus, if you were comparing a 24 bit CD (is that what SACDs are/were?), to a 16 bit CD of the same source recording, I would bet you'd hear the difference!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2010, 08:19 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,508
Default Re: Is it sonically destructive to convert 32bit .wav files to 24bit .wav?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Kelly View Post
Plus, if you were comparing a 24 bit CD (is that what SACDs are/were?), to a 16 bit CD of the same source recording, I would bet you'd hear the difference!
Metallica's Death Magnetic?
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2010, 08:38 PM
ondruspat ondruspat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lansing, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,142
Default Re: Is it sonically destructive to convert 32bit .wav files to 24bit .wav?





...what can I say???...
__________________
"Sometimes having limits keeps you sane"- Albee1952
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-24-2010, 09:15 PM
Violet Violet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 526
Default Re: Is it sonically destructive to convert 32bit .wav files to 24bit .wav?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
This setting is in the Project Settings window, and you can also choose 24-bit when you render or consolidate/export.

I didn't try 64-bit Reaper, but that should still be the same.

And no, you won't lose anything by going to 24-bit.
Right, in Project Settings WAV bit depth is 24 bit PCM... but thats for 'recording', Render resample mode's options are only divisible by 32. There for in Reaper x64 I'm stuck with rendering at a bloody 32bits, which forces me to use a third party program to convert all my 32bit audio files to 24bit. looks like I'm screwed in this regard.

How about which one, can anyone hear a difference between 16bit or 32bit to 24bit conversion? Cause 16bit 'is' noticeable worse than 24bit.
__________________
PT 9.0.3
Windows 7 64 bit, 2x i7 PCs, 24GB, 3 SSD's, 5 HD's
....and a couple other toys.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-24-2010, 09:38 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,508
Default Re: Is it sonically destructive to convert 32bit .wav files to 24bit .wav?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Violet View Post
Right, in Project Settings WAV bit depth is 24 bit PCM... but thats for 'recording', Render resample mode's options are only divisible by 32. There for in Reaper x64 I'm stuck with rendering at a bloody 32bits, which forces me to use a third party program to convert all my 32bit audio files to 24bit. looks like I'm screwed in this regard.

How about which one, can anyone hear a difference between 16bit or 32bit to 24bit conversion? Cause 16bit 'is' noticeable worse than 24bit.
That's not what I see. http://www.dropbox.com/gallery/25058...ender?h=cc2f46

Why don't you render the tracks and then export them as 24-bit? Does that not work any better?
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-24-2010, 11:29 PM
Violet Violet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 526
Default Re: Is it sonically destructive to convert 32bit .wav files to 24bit .wav?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
That's not what I see. http://www.dropbox.com/gallery/25058...ender?h=cc2f46

Why don't you render the tracks and then export them as 24-bit? Does that not work any better?
Right, that is the Render folder not the project folder. But even with the 24 bit on both folders I still get 32 render audio files. I'll try the export tomorrow, but still I would like a 24bit when they are born, not change them.

Thanks for your help though Jimmy.
__________________
PT 9.0.3
Windows 7 64 bit, 2x i7 PCs, 24GB, 3 SSD's, 5 HD's
....and a couple other toys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording: 24bit vs. 32bit float WombatStudio.Org Tips & Tricks 55 10-05-2014 03:41 PM
Sample Rate not matching 32bit & 24bit john1192 macOS 0 03-15-2012 05:28 AM
24Bit dithering in a 32Bit session. Any problems known? Franco1967 macOS 4 12-22-2011 12:50 AM
batch conversion 32bit to 24bit siga 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-23-2007 04:51 PM
32bit.wav to 24bit sdII neuman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-08-2000 10:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com