Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Carbon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-03-2021, 10:35 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,334
Default Re: Pro Tools v2021.3 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by dankin View Post
Is Carbon solid for the people that have it? I’m really close to ordering one, but seeing things like “audio dropouts” just being fixed, makes me question it. Is that a rare issue, or do most people experience that? As much as I hate the workflow with the Apollos, I have had zero issues with them.
Obviously we can only relate our own limited anecdotal experience related to the kind of workflows we use.
I record only myself and both audio and midi tracks, from 10 to 20 total

With my system and specs I have had no Audio Drops outs, or any of the other issues that are fixed by updating to Big Sur and 2021.3.1 are supposed to fix as per the linked "release info".
And Carbon on Catalina 10.15.7 (As it did on 2021.1 and 2012.12 ) works as reliable as any system I have had.
I don't do video in PT, I use FCPX for video editing and import the PT music WAV file into FCPX
So for me there is no good reason to go back to any previous version of PT or OS
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.3.1 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-04-2021, 03:20 AM
LFO LFO is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: France
Posts: 129
Default Re: Pro Tools v2021.3 Now Available

Also using Carbon on a Mac running Catalina, recording 16 tracks at 24/96, doing lot of overdubs I never had any drop out or any problem at all, it seems a Big Sur thing...Althought not doing much midi on Protools I find this system very very stable, really good sounding and simple to use ( well although eager to see preamps presets in Protools), not even talking about getting rid of latency.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-08-2021, 04:05 AM
darkwavo darkwavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Amsterdam , Netherlands
Posts: 28
Default Re: Pro Tools v2021.3 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle Splittgerber View Post
Hi All,

I wanted to follow up and let you know that Big Sur 11.3 was released which resolves a few of the Carbon bugs I mentioned above. I encourage you to update if you are running into these bugs.

• Audio dropouts/artifacts in 10.15.7 and 11.2.3; Resolved in future Big Sur release (PT-268800)
• No Audio Output over AVB; Resolved in future Big Sur release (PT-268662)
• Unable to create Session at new Sample Rate; Resolved in future Big Sur release (PT-265729)
• No Audio device in Audio Midi Setup; Resolved in future Big Sur release (PT-268874)
• "Cannot Communicate with Playback Engine"; Resolved in future Big Sur release (PT-268881)

Thanks.
Sorry y’all ,
Guess I’m still confused.
Does this mean carbon now works with the new M1/ Big Sur Macs?
I’m thinking of pairing Carbon with a new IMac unless anyone advises against it.
Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-08-2021, 04:11 AM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 90
Default Re: Pro Tools v2021.3 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkwavo View Post
Sorry y’all ,
Guess I’m still confused.
Does this mean carbon now works with the new M1/ Big Sur Macs?
I’m thinking of pairing Carbon with a new IMac unless anyone advises against it.
Thanks again!
As per this page .. https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...m-Requirements

Big Sur is qualified BUT M1 Macs are not.
You might find it works. Or you might find it does not.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-08-2021, 05:20 AM
darkwavo darkwavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Amsterdam , Netherlands
Posts: 28
Default Re: Pro Tools v2021.3 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominicperry View Post
As per this page .. https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...m-Requirements

Big Sur is qualified BUT M1 Macs are not.
You might find it works. Or you might find it does not.
Ok Gotcha . Jeez I wonder if it’s a good idea to wait until everything is working.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-09-2021, 06:52 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,334
Default Re: Pro Tools v2021.3 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkwavo View Post
Ok Gotcha . Jeez I wonder if it’s a good idea to wait until everything is working.
If you have a current functioning system ( Me) I would wait, because some fairly reliable Mac "prediction sources" have indicated that Apple will likely be announcing a new bigger screen iMac in July (given the current M1 iMac is only available in in the 24" screen) and this new iMac will probably with a new upgraded version of the original M1 chip ( M1X or M1XZ or even M2 ) with more cores ,,,Of course it will be more money so ???????
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.3.1 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-10-2021, 11:36 PM
darkwavo darkwavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Amsterdam , Netherlands
Posts: 28
Default Re: Pro Tools v2021.3 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
If you have a current functioning system ( Me) I would wait, because some fairly reliable Mac "prediction sources" have indicated that Apple will likely be announcing a new bigger screen iMac in July (given the current M1 iMac is only available in in the 24" screen) and this new iMac will probably with a new upgraded version of the original M1 chip ( M1X or M1XZ or even M2 ) with more cores ,,,Of course it will be more money so ???????
Good advice. I’m all set to grab the Carbon from my audio dealer, just perplexed about which Mac to get.
It also feels like the wrong time to buy with Apple, because something new and better is right around the corner. They are geniuses haha.
I guess my main concern is performance and also fan noise “coolness”.
So I’ll keep researching.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-11-2021, 05:25 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,334
Default Re: Pro Tools v2021.3 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkwavo View Post
Good advice. I’m all set to grab the Carbon from my audio dealer, just perplexed about which Mac to get.
It also feels like the wrong time to buy with Apple, because something new and better is right around the corner. They are geniuses haha.
I guess my main concern is performance and also fan noise “coolness”.
So I’ll keep researching.
Performance wise the iMac I bought in November with the the 10th gen i7 is great, but the fan noise is quite noticeable when doing things like video rendering
So while it has not been a big issue when simply recording audio, but then I do not do huge sessions
The M series Apple silicon Mac's are said to be virtually silent
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.3.1 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-11-2021, 09:48 AM
Cowboy Bob's Avatar
Cowboy Bob Cowboy Bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 399
Default Re: Pro Tools v2021.3 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Roche View Post
...but the fan noise is quite noticeable when doing things like video rendering
So while it has not been a big issue when simply recording audio, but then I do not do huge sessions
The M series Apple silicon Mac's are said to be virtually silent
I found my 9th-generation Intel Core i9 processor iMac (2019) to suffer from the same malady; fan noise.

I found that using the turbo boost switcher to disable turbo boost made my machine run much cooler which results in nearly silent iMac, and I have not noticed any performance issues at all. In fact, it seems to have improved overall performance especially WRT some of the Izotope line, and certain VIs.

But, of course I only relay my own experience and not offer any recommendation, so YMMV.
__________________

"If the grass looks greener on the other side of the fence, well, it is likely due to the amount of manure being spread on that side of the fence." Cowboy Bob

Squaw Creek Road Studio

Bob
Pro Tools Standard (2021.3)| Pro Tools Carbon | Sibelius Ultimate (current version)
|
3.6GHz 8-core 9th-generation Intel Core i9 processor iMac w/40GB RAM | 1TB SSD | macOS Catalina |

Avid Eleven Rack ERXP | Focusrite Clarett 8Pre X | Lenovo i7 ThinkPad | Win 7 Professional | Avid 003 + Rack |

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-11-2021, 10:48 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,334
Default Re: Pro Tools v2021.3 Now Available

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy Bob View Post
I found my 9th-generation Intel Core i9 processor iMac (2019) to suffer from the same malady; fan noise.

I found that using the turbo boost switcher to disable turbo boost made my machine run much cooler which results in nearly silent iMac, and I have not noticed any performance issues at all. In fact, it seems to have improved overall performance especially WRT some of the Izotope line, and certain VIs.

But, of course I only relay my own experience and not offer any recommendation, so YMMV.
I have the turbo boost switcher down loaded but do not have it installed But you post has me thinking it may be worth it. Thanks
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.3.1 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools v2021.3 Now Available Avid Technical Alerts 0 03-25-2021 09:16 AM
Pro Tools v2021.3 Now Available Avid Pro Tools 2021 0 03-25-2021 09:16 AM
FS: Pro Tools HD 8 + Pro Tools HD 9 + Pro Tools 9 Bundle iLOK license Delta Music Belgium Buy & Sell 1 02-27-2019 03:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com