Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2017, 12:51 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,072
Default Batch rename is welcomed

Now I no longer have to do this in Finder, or delete all the tracks and clips in Pro Tools when I forgot to batch rename before importing all the files.

Hopefully it works as good as it does with Mac OS's automator.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

UAD 2 Apollo Quad w/Thunderbolt 3, UAD 2 Satellite Octo TB3, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Avid S1, Neve R6 500 Chasis, Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Dangerous DBox+, Focal Trio6 Be, Neumann TLM49, Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61

Pro Tools 2021.12

Mac Pro 7,1 2019, 8 Core, 48GB RAM - MacOS 11.6.2

16" MacBook Pro 2021, M1 Pro, 16GB RAM - MacOS 12.1

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - MacOS 10.15
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2017, 05:21 PM
jmdigi jmdigi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 19
Default Re: Batch rename is welcomed

Note that Batch Clip Rename only renames the clips NOT the finder file names.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2017, 07:42 PM
cshaw cshaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Bastrop, TX
Posts: 142
Default Re: Batch rename is welcomed

It literally saved me a half hour of work today. The project I’m working on has all of it’s Audio exported from Logic and file has the song title in it - all 102 of them. It literally took 15 second to rename everything.

Good one Avid!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
www.chrisshawmix.com

PT 20.3.0
S1 x2
Artist Transport
Avid Control
iPad 7th Gen
HD Native
Hackintosh i9 3.6 GHz Six Core
MTRX Studio
OSX 13.6.4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2017, 04:55 AM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,072
Default Re: Batch rename is welcomed

Quote:
Originally Posted by cshaw View Post
It literally saved me a half hour of work today. The project I’m working on has all of it’s Audio exported from Logic and file has the song title in it - all 102 of them. It literally took 15 second to rename everything.

Good one Avid!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yup, I know exactly what you were facing. I get that everyday. Luckily, thanks to youtube I found that batch rename automation in Mac OS a few years ago. It's been a life saver.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

UAD 2 Apollo Quad w/Thunderbolt 3, UAD 2 Satellite Octo TB3, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Avid S1, Neve R6 500 Chasis, Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Dangerous DBox+, Focal Trio6 Be, Neumann TLM49, Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61

Pro Tools 2021.12

Mac Pro 7,1 2019, 8 Core, 48GB RAM - MacOS 11.6.2

16" MacBook Pro 2021, M1 Pro, 16GB RAM - MacOS 12.1

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - MacOS 10.15
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2017, 08:06 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,780
Default Re: Batch rename is welcomed

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
Yup, I know exactly what you were facing. I get that everyday. Luckily, thanks to youtube I found that batch rename automation in Mac OS a few years ago. It's been a life saver.
hey Hellfirre, can you share the MAC OS rename info please ?? would love to know this as well .. and if it is easy internet search, please just disregard this and i will do a search

thank you john ..
__________________
Macmini M1 8/512 -OS 12.3.1 and PT2022.4
Logic Pro X 10.7.4
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS11.6.5 - PT 2021.3
Logic Pro X 10.7.4
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2017, 08:45 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,201
Default Re: Batch rename is welcomed

Been batch renaming files for years in PT, using Strip Silence (without any separation settings) and suffix numbers - I seem to remember the rename feature ended up working the same way around PT7.4-ish.
I'm no doubt missing something significant, but how is this new feature different?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-19-2017, 08:51 AM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,128
Default Re: Batch rename is welcomed

This one is a standalone app which renames files in the Mac Finder.

A Better Finder Rename:
http://www.publicspace.net/ABetterFinderRename/

Its options, rules, renumbering, etc are infinite and second to none.
Highly recommended.

Of course remember that if you rename files outside of a Pro Tools session that already exists, then the session will not be able to recognize those renamed fies.

and take special note of jmdigi's comment:
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmdigi View Post
Note that Batch Clip Rename only renames the clips NOT the finder file names.

Last edited by Tweakhead; 10-19-2017 at 10:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-19-2017, 09:11 AM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,072
Default Re: Batch rename is welcomed

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
hey Hellfirre, can you share the MAC OS rename info please ?? would love to know this as well .. and if it is easy internet search, please just disregard this and i will do a search

thank you john ..
Search on Youtube how to set up Batch Rename service with Automator. I forget exactly how to set it up as I did it almost 3 years ago.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

UAD 2 Apollo Quad w/Thunderbolt 3, UAD 2 Satellite Octo TB3, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Avid S1, Neve R6 500 Chasis, Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Dangerous DBox+, Focal Trio6 Be, Neumann TLM49, Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61

Pro Tools 2021.12

Mac Pro 7,1 2019, 8 Core, 48GB RAM - MacOS 11.6.2

16" MacBook Pro 2021, M1 Pro, 16GB RAM - MacOS 12.1

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - MacOS 10.15
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-19-2017, 10:53 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,780
Default Re: Batch rename is welcomed

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
Search on Youtube how to set up Batch Rename service with Automator. I forget exactly how to set it up as I did it almost 3 years ago.
thank you !!
__________________
Macmini M1 8/512 -OS 12.3.1 and PT2022.4
Logic Pro X 10.7.4
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS11.6.5 - PT 2021.3
Logic Pro X 10.7.4
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-20-2017, 01:29 AM
V5V's Avatar
V5V V5V is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 543
Default Re: Batch rename is welcomed

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
hey Hellfirre, can you share the MAC OS rename info please ?? would love to know this as well .. and if it is easy internet search, please just disregard this and i will do a search

thank you john ..
I've been using NameChanger and am satisfied enough with it that I haven't bothered to see if there's anything better:

https://mrrsoftware.com/namechanger/
__________________
Lorin Schultz
V5V Audio
Vancouver, BC Canada
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
batch rename regions? dboles 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-31-2015 11:44 AM
PT 9.02 crash - feedback welcomed Irish916 Windows 4 03-20-2011 06:17 AM
Batch rename file types? jonnyrocker Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-22-2006 03:17 PM
what good is auto-rename if they don't rename at the root level? graphite 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 09-28-2001 01:14 PM
Recording vocals live - Tips welcomed Mark_Knecht 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-11-2001 12:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com