Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2010, 07:19 AM
CapeBretonSound CapeBretonSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 63
Default Windows Convert....Which iMac?

I edged up to this a while back and then chickened out and went with a Windows machine ...which is going back.

I really want to make the switch but after cruising through the first 17 pages here I'm a little apprehensive...but still committed...

I just recently bought an Eleven Rack that came with a bad installer disk so I will be doing the install by download when I settle on the new machine.So I'm anxiously watching to see that 8.03 update for downloaders resolved :)
I assume I wont have any control over which software version I end up with....purhasing from the apple store.
(I always bought pre tweaked Digi Approved "Turn Key" systems)

I have an 002 that I may or may not use with the 11R and I will purchase a seperate recording drive (Glyph GT 050Q 500GB).

I like the idea of the iMac but not sure if there are any "real world" differences between them.
I can swing the 27" i7 but dont mind spending less i5,core duo whatever.

Any success stories with a similar 11R set up and a iMac?

Are the wireless mouse and keyboard an issue with PTLE?
Are they any other things I should consider as a "convert"?
I'll have to learn the mac software ie repairing permissions which I assume will be learnable for an old dog like me :)

Thanks!
__________________
Digi002,Music XPC C4 (XP Home SP2),MPTK,Amplitube2,EZDrummer/Superior 2.0,Ozone3,M Audio Axiom61,Mackie HR824mkII
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2010, 08:57 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,881
Default Re: Windows Convert....Which iMac?

Well, the iMac quad is likely a great machine with some minor hiccups; Snow Leopard(which may be okay now), only a single firewire port and a single internal drive, and you will need to learn some new stuff(not a big deal). As one that has(and still does) used both, I have no ax to grind with Mac(other than the cost). The same $2K would build a killer i7 PC with a pair of 24" flatscreens. I know the grass looks greener on the other side, but once you get there, is it still greener?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2010, 01:38 PM
barstool719 barstool719 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 625
Default Re: Windows Convert....Which iMac?

I have decided that for my personal studio, I'm going back to Windows.

I can build a killer i7 PC for $900 that is full of compatibility tested parts and will sadly run faster than the quad core mac pro i bought two years ago, (and a million times faster than my "stuck in time" EOLd PPC G5) and PT8 still works with XP. And if for some reason or another I wanted to go TDM, I can get the cheaper PCI cards.

I love my Mac Pro - the macs are no doubt great machines, but I hate Apple. I've had 1 too many of those Cinema displays go bad in less than a year.

</complaining>
__________________
i7-860 / 12GB Kingston / Intel DP55WB / 500GB Barracuda / 1TB Deskstar W7x64
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 / Pro Tools 9.0.3
Mics, Guitars, Amps, Basses, Drums, Keys


http://overtheeffect.bandcamp.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2010, 02:08 PM
@ndy's Avatar
@ndy @ndy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 368
Default Re: Windows Convert....Which iMac?

I had a 20" ACD die on me last year. I sent it to these guys in San Francisco:http://www.moniserv.com/ With shipping both ways it took less than a week. It was torture going single monitor for a few days!
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OS 10.8.4, 003R, PT10.3.4, Midi I/O and late 08 15" Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, OS 10.8.4, Mbox2, PT10.3.4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2010, 07:26 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,828
Default Re: Windows Convert....Which iMac?

A couple of thoughts:

On the wireless mouse, Digi recommends that when using protools that you turn off bluetooth. That doesn't bode well for using anything wireless. Also, using a wireless mouse in protools is much more intensive than normal computer work (holding and dragging plugin knobs, sliders, etc.) so you will go through batteries about every 3 weeks. For this reason I bought a wired Microsoft mouse I've been happy with.

Also, the wireless keyboard does not come with the numeric keypad or page up/page down buttons. I like having these. For example to nudge a region you can use the + or - keys.

I mention this because if you order from Apple Store online, you can order the Imac with the wired keyboard (with numeric keypad) and wired mouse for no extra charge. Although for resale value I would still order the wireless mouse and then just buy a 3rd party wired mouse.

If you do get the quad Imac, spend the extra $200 to get the I7 faster processor. I've heard it's really worth it.

On the displays, the Cinema display technology is several years old. I have a 2 1/2 year old Imac and the display is great. The newest Imacs are LED which may prove even better.

If you decide to hook up a 2nd monitor you can just get a cheap Dell, Samsung, etc.

However, the other guys have a point about Windows being cheaper. I love Mac myself but I understand their point.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2010, 07:38 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,423
Default Re: Windows Convert....Which iMac?

Quote:
If you do get the quad Imac, spend the extra $200 to get the I7 faster processor. I've heard it's really worth it.
I definitely agree. It's a no brainer for the price. I'm really happy I got the 27" i7, the 2560x1440 display is awesome.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2010, 07:40 PM
@ndy's Avatar
@ndy @ndy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 368
Default Re: Windows Convert....Which iMac?

It's really simple, do want a prostitute or a call girl? Both will get the job done. However you have to pay allot more for no viruses!
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OS 10.8.4, 003R, PT10.3.4, Midi I/O and late 08 15" Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, OS 10.8.4, Mbox2, PT10.3.4
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-03-2010, 07:25 AM
barstool719 barstool719 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 625
Default Re: Windows Convert....Which iMac?

Quote:
Originally Posted by @ndy View Post
It's really simple, do want a prostitute or a call girl? Both will get the job done. However you have to pay allot more for no viruses!
if you use all legit plugins and software and never connect your windows audio production machine to the web, viruses are a non issue.
__________________
i7-860 / 12GB Kingston / Intel DP55WB / 500GB Barracuda / 1TB Deskstar W7x64
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 / Pro Tools 9.0.3
Mics, Guitars, Amps, Basses, Drums, Keys


http://overtheeffect.bandcamp.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-03-2010, 10:03 AM
@ndy's Avatar
@ndy @ndy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Peachtree City, GA
Posts: 368
Default Re: Windows Convert....Which iMac?

Quote:
Originally Posted by barstool719 View Post
if you use all legit plugins and software and never connect your windows audio production machine to the web, viruses are a non issue.
That's still only 99%. What about picking one up off a clients drive? It is possible. Also, I wish everybody would start using legit software and plug-ins on both sides of the fence. It is making it very expensive for those of us who do!
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OS 10.8.4, 003R, PT10.3.4, Midi I/O and late 08 15" Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, OS 10.8.4, Mbox2, PT10.3.4
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-31-2010, 03:39 AM
Tommy216 Tommy216 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 2
Default Which Mac to run high end soft synths in PTLE

Hi all, I'm new to the forum and was wondering if anyone had any info. on weather the new iMac i7 running PT 8 will run high end soft synths., specifically,
Omnisphere , Trillion (Spectrasonics),
BFD (FXpansion Drums.),
Ivory (Synthology Pianos.)

There's also the issue of how many drives you can connect with 1 fire wire port. Protools recommends you run audio to a separate disk so there's one for starters. How many drives can you run on a single fire wire port?

As an option to the iMac I'm looking at the new Mac Pros. I still want the same virtual instruments. I know the Mac Pro's are powerful but what configuration would best run these instruments? Budget's an issue but I'm hoping I can get maybe 3-5 years out of a Mac pro that can expand with my needs.

Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can't convert songs from PC to iMac CherylD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-28-2011 10:24 PM
Help a Windows Convert Iguana 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-25-2007 08:55 PM
Convert a Windows PT LE Session to Mac AFTER? sndchck 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-19-2006 08:41 AM
Convert from PT Free for Windows to Mac? S360 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-13-2004 01:29 PM
Windows user wants to convert! HELP Jace Everett 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 01-24-2004 09:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com