Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2004, 05:08 PM
IPerez27 IPerez27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3
Default Sampling rate problem

I just started into Post Production at an independent film facility. I've been recently having problems with my sampling rate.

I open new sessions in 48k, work on them but without warning the session sounds slow and lo and behold the session is now running on 44.1k. Okay, so I'll open a new session in 48k and import the session data, all good until a few moments later and boom back to 44.1k.

It's getting a bit irritating. It does this whether we are editting, importing audio or recording ADR or foley. I've set the Digidesign core Audio to 48k and that doesn't change. I'll open up PT first, make sure the hardware setup is running at 48k before opening up a new session or an old session that was running at 48k.

I've downloaded the patches (cs5, 6, and 7) and still the same problem. We were having display and setting difficulties so we assumed it was a low battery. The battery is replaced, the display prob fixed but PT is still giving me problems. I've worn my eyes red reading through posts and using the search engine for help.

I'm running a 1.25 dual G4 powerpc at OS 10.3.4 with PT LE 6.4 (a la patches) on a MBox (002R is in the mail).

Anyone else gone through this? Got an ADR session in the morn would be nice to have this fixed.
__________________
Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2004, 05:45 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: Sampling rate problem

What's the clock set to in your Session Setup Window?

Make sure it's in INTERNAL.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2004, 06:25 PM
IPerez27 IPerez27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Sampling rate problem

It's always at internal.
__________________
Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2004, 08:14 PM
scott waz scott waz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 109
Default Re: Sampling rate problem

Any other digital equipment that might be fighting you for sample rate control? Then disconnect.

Tell us more about you setup.

-sw
__________________
Scott Waz CAS
Philadelphia Post
www.phillypost.tv
~a Dream Out Loud company~
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2004, 08:38 PM
IPerez27 IPerez27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Sampling rate problem

I work mostly in the box with no control surface. The only things that are coming in and out of the mbox is a mic XLR cable. Two 1/4 cables out to M Audio speakers and a DA-60mkII connected by SPDIF. However the Dat machine is off if I'm not digitizing audio and this has been a problem when we didn't have the Dat machine in the room at all. But I'll try completely disconnecting the DA-60 to see if this helps.

Any other ideas?

thanks,
Iris
__________________
Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with sampling rate!! Kemo3ce macOS 4 02-03-2013 01:40 AM
Anybody know what the max sampling rate of PT 8.0 LE is? Fabb2004 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-09-2012 10:58 PM
Sampling Rate Problem Please Help D.O.T General Discussion 0 07-13-2008 06:33 AM
16k sampling rate? guy.fi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-31-2007 03:03 AM
mbox sampling rate madincraft 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-05-2003 11:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com