Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-28-2003, 12:07 PM

Default remote access

hi,

has anyone tried to use remote access to see desktop of another machine and to run protools (start stop type thing for recording in another room) coming back to main room for editing and mixing.

peace john

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS11.6.5 - PT 2021.3
Logic Pro X 10.7.4
RME BabyFace Pro
Old 12-29-2003, 05:49 AM

Default Re: remote access

I'm interested in this too. I'm a producer as well as an envineer. So, I thought it would be cool to take my 17" PB into the live room on a stand (with wheels) and be able to control record functions from in the live room. That way, I could have more direct and intimate communication with the artist. I usually have an assistant that can run the transport, but when you are working out parts, some times it's nice to do it myself.

-Tom
Old 12-29-2003, 06:02 AM

I hope I don't sound too naive, but couldn't you just run a long monitor cable out to your recording area and maybe use a bluetooth keyboard and mouse to operate Pro Tools from out there?
Old 12-29-2003, 09:56 AM

i am running a long monitor cable now but have an issue as my live room is not just on the other side of the glass but in the garage of house. there is no visual contact and cable run is 75 feet down hallway and downstairs. i have been using (but returning due to problems) an ethernet send receiver solution (KVM extender) from I/O gear. i am looking at the Gefen version (cat 5 1000) but i have to test it out. the remote desktop software could make a clean wireless solution with ibook and airport extreme. bluetooth would be perfect for short runs.