Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2009, 07:21 AM
donbenjy donbenjy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25
Default Conform to tempo/elastic audio?

Hey, so I have an assignment to do, which involves recreating a song from the original multitracks (Peter Gabriel's Shock the Monkey, if anyone cares). The tempo starts at a very precise 148.6 bpm, but fluctuates by a few beats, which makes it hard to align say a 1 bar drum loop with the entire vocal track (as this doesn't stay at the exact tempo). I really want to conform the original stereo mix to exactly 148.6, and just work in grid mode using elastic audio and beat detective to make everything fit properly...

Is there a "quick" way to conform the 3 minute track to a fixed tempo so I can work with a click? I tried "conform to tempo" but that doesn't seem to really do anything other than move my sync point a little bit, and it seems like it's even more out of time by the end of the track. Can anyone suggest the best way to do this?

Cheers
Ben
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2009, 09:11 AM
Dorian Green Dorian Green is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: France
Posts: 210
Default Re: Conform to tempo/elastic audio?

It really depends what you expect!Do you want to "remap" your song?This way EA is the best way but you'll have to trim some warp markers to fit the set tempo which involve losing a bit of quality.
Or you just want to have a click on the original track?Then use Beat Detective who will set different tempi just depending on the time between two beats (it's a beat by beat process!).
It's up to you now!
__________________
Green Room Studios, France
Mac Book Pro i7 15"4 Mac OSX 10.6.6
PT 9.0.2
DIY Intel Core 2 Quad, P5B Premium,DDR2 6GB, Win 7 Ultimate.
PTLE 8.0.4
002R Unit and MBox Mini
SSL XLogic Alpha Channel.
SPL Goldmike valve Preamp.
DBX Analog Compressors, Gate and Eq.
Monster Cables
Home made & Neutrik Patchbay.
Brauner, Shure, Seinnheiser and T.Bone mikes.
Tannoy 8D Active monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2009, 09:16 AM
donbenjy donbenjy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Conform to tempo/elastic audio?

Thanks for the reply...I can't really decide which way to do it...Most of the tracks vary in tempo very slightly, so will it sound too clinical if I strap it to a fix tempo? I was thinking of just working to the fixed tempo, and using either EA or BD depending on the track (so using BD for the drums, and EA a bit on the vocals.

The thing is, it's a really sample based piece, so pretty much everything except the vocals and bass are meant to be looped...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2009, 09:35 AM
peppertree peppertree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,610
Default Re: Conform to tempo/elastic audio?

I recommend Kenny Gioia's videos.

http://www.grooveboxmusic.com/str/pro-tools-training/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2009, 02:53 AM
youngas75 youngas75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hull, UK
Posts: 171
Default Re: Conform to tempo/elastic audio?

I had something similar with a track I've just finished, what I ended up doing was cutting it up into 4 bar sections and EA across those using the TCE tool, took about 45 minutes to get the track done. It messed up the vocals a bit so I re did those separately and comped together the takes again so all in all a 4min 34sec track took about 1hr 30mins to 'fix'
__________________
6 x HDX
21 x Vanilla
D-Command ES
S6 M10
SSL Duality, AWS924, AWS948, Nucleus
All Mac
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
turn off tempo conform when importing audio rosindabow macOS 3 06-19-2012 10:59 AM
Fragmentation of audio by Elastic Audio HD9 tempo change?? bassybob macOS 0 01-05-2012 03:11 PM
Workflow to conform multiple tracks to one tempo using elastic audio frantik Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 7 08-05-2010 03:05 PM
Elastic Conform to tempo issue? ThosSounds Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-17-2009 11:36 AM
How to use elastic audio to conform an imported file DonaldM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 20 06-30-2008 06:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com