Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2005, 08:57 AM
tritonkorg tritonkorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: California
Posts: 165
Default RTAS compatible drum software?

hi..i also wanted to know if you guys know of any drum software with drum kit sount library and loops that works fine with protools and can be used for pop songs..most programs are for house, techno, and hiphop...i haven't found anything for soft music yet.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:08 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montr้al, Qu้bec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: RTAS compatible drum software?

BFD from www.fxpansion.com
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2005, 04:15 PM
Herkimer Herkimer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston, MA (Salem)
Posts: 407
Default Re: RTAS compatible drum software?

I went to the BFD website and perused the information. it looks like BFD is more of a program for sequencing pre-recorded loops than for creating original drum grooves. Is that correct? Can I program step-wise in BFD? I find banging out beats on a midi keyboard to be laborious and considerably limiting.

Most groove authoring suites (like Fruity Loops and Beatcraft) offer a grid-based window wherein you place drum hits according to a beat map. Then you can modify the pitch, velocity, panning, etc for each hit.
__________________
____________________________________
Home Build:
Core i7 920/Gigabyte EX58-UD3R/6Mb Ram
Mbox2/MboxMicro
ProTools 8.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2005, 07:09 AM
Angus_FX Angus_FX is offline
FXpansion Audio
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 398
Default Re: RTAS compatible drum software?

With BFD you create original drum programming using Pro Tools' Piano Roll editor. Sounds like BFD's sister product GURU might be much more up your street:-

http://www.fxpansion.com/product-guru-main.php

Hope this helps,
Angus.
__________________
Angus F. Hewlett, CEO
FXpansion Audio - http://www.fxpansion.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2005, 04:17 PM
Herkimer Herkimer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston, MA (Salem)
Posts: 407
Default Re: RTAS compatible drum software?

OMG - that looks fabulous. Thanks for the tip!!

I can't stand using someone elses beats in my tunes. It's a personal problem. I just think "it's not mine if I don't program it ALL."

PLUS, I work a lot in 6/8. I haven't yet found anything decent for 6/8 time. Then to really challenge a program - go from 6/8 to 4/4/ and back again.

Believe it or not, my Boss 864 digital recorder does it easier than any of the computer based drum machines I own. Although - granted - I only have experience with beatcraft and fruity loops. (I really should learn how to use Reason!! Can Reason change time meter and tempo?)
__________________
____________________________________
Home Build:
Core i7 920/Gigabyte EX58-UD3R/6Mb Ram
Mbox2/MboxMicro
ProTools 8.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-09-2005, 06:45 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,207
Default Re: RTAS compatible drum software?

On a less expensive note iDrums is a no frills Drum Machine that you create your own beats in and its about $50. Tried the demo but liked Reason (which was included in my Factory bundle) as well or better. Anyways it's worth checking out.
__________________
Dell T5810. Harrison Mixbus 32C. Haven't used PT since 2015 and never been happier.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-09-2005, 06:51 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: RTAS compatible drum software?

CME, iDrum is MAC only, and for most of the people reading this particular forum (Pro Tools LE Systems on Windows: 002, Mbox, 001), it would be irrelavant.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-09-2005, 07:07 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: RTAS compatible drum software?

I like GURU, Synchronic and DrumCore.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-10-2005, 01:22 AM
Angus_FX Angus_FX is offline
FXpansion Audio
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 398
Default Re: RTAS compatible drum software?

Quote:

PLUS, I work a lot in 6/8. I haven't yet found anything decent for 6/8 time. Then to really challenge a program - go from 6/8 to 4/4/ and back again.

Not a problem in GURU -- you can have any pattern length you want up to 32 steps, and beyond that any multiple (2, 3 or 4x) up to 128, and each of its eight engines has an independent "fractional tempo multiplier" (sounds very Star Trek, I know).. basically meaning each engine can sync to the master clock at fractions like 3/4, 5/7, 8/3 etc. Fantastic for polyrhythms.
__________________
Angus F. Hewlett, CEO
FXpansion Audio - http://www.fxpansion.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for drum software compatible with 6.4LE Spikerama 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-14-2013 06:03 AM
Pro Tools 10 compatible drum pad, beat machine, MPC, etc.. software fbic333 macOS 3 11-02-2012 11:26 AM
free RTAS drum software! Simon666 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-21-2006 02:29 AM
Drum Machine or Drum Software pacodub 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-23-2005 11:29 AM
Drum Tracks ... Software or Drum Module? BRB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 01-05-2003 02:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com