Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2024, 04:58 PM
Redpony Redpony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 23
Default 2024.3 Bugs to Confirm

Hi,

I use Pro Tools for mixing but have been contemplating using it for production but the number of bugs I've run into has given me pause. I am using 2024.3 with MacOS 14.4.1 on a Mac Studio M2. Are these below known issues?

- Patch names do not work. I recently upgraded my Mac and before upgrading when using 2023.12 with a 2013 trashcan they worked fine. Now the same middev and midnam files do not. I've confirmed that these do work in DP 11 which uses the same format, so the problem is not with the files. I've contacted Avid but they have not responded after they requested, and I sent, system logs.

- Sending midi clock to my Prophet 12 causes random notes and locks up the synth. Midi clock works fine with my other DAWs (Cubase and Live).

- In the score editor I do not see a way to not display the folder a track is in, which is a waste of space. Worse, if you enter a note into the staff for the folder track Pro Tools crashes.

I've tried trashing my preferences to no avail.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2024, 05:48 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,629
Default Re: 2024.3 Bugs to Confirm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redpony View Post
Hi,

I use Pro Tools for mixing but have been contemplating using it for production but the number of bugs I've run into has given me pause. I am using 2024.3 with MacOS 14.4.1 on a Mac Studio M2. Are these below known issues?

- Patch names do not work. I recently upgraded my Mac and before upgrading when using 2023.12 with a 2013 trashcan they worked fine. Now the same middev and midnam files do not. I've confirmed that these do work in DP 11 which uses the same format, so the problem is not with the files. I've contacted Avid but they have not responded after they requested, and I sent, system logs.

- Sending midi clock to my Prophet 12 causes random notes and locks up the synth. Midi clock works fine with my other DAWs (Cubase and Live).

- In the score editor I do not see a way to not display the folder a track is in, which is a waste of space. Worse, if you enter a note into the staff for the folder track Pro Tools crashes.

I've tried trashing my preferences to no avail.
I can only comment on the patch names and yes that component of PT is frustratingly archaic, *if* it works. I've not been able to create and use patch names for many, many years. It seems like such a simple thing to implement. StudioVision circa 1995 was far more advanced when it came to this.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2024, 05:45 AM
Redpony Redpony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 23
Default Re: 2024.3 Bugs to Confirm

Thanks for the response. What is odd is that they were working in the previous version on my older machine.

Was working on a template last night invoking many copies of BBCSO Orchestra. Endless crashes without any alert or spinning wheel after invoking the plugin. My system is fairly new and I have been methodical about only installing plugins that are Sonoma approved.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2024, 11:50 AM
Redpony Redpony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 23
Default Re: 2024.3 Bugs to Confirm

I did manage to get the patch names working but my copy of Pro Tools is crashing constantly and is unusable.

My troubleshooting consisted of deleting Pro Tools per the recommendations here: https://avidtech.my.salesforce-sites...uninstall-PT11

I then reinstalled 2023.9 which is the version I was running on my Mac Pro and where the patch names were working.

I then removed all of my custom middev and midnam files. I then tried copying my middev definitions in Digidesign Device List.middev instead of as individual files. I then placed my midnam files in the Midi Patch Names/Avid folder.

Midi patch names then worked automatically.

I created a template with the latest version of Kontakt 7 using Spitfire's Chamber Strings. There are some issues with midi paths in this version but everything worked and there were no crashes.

I then uninstalled 2023.9 and installed 2024.3 following the same procedure.

The patch names worked but failed when I clicked the patch list icon (whereas in 2023.9 they just worked). I then loaded the midnam files which were then recognized.

I then began recreating the template I had in 2023.9 (in both scenarios I was duplicating a track) and within minutes the application crashed without an error message. The log refers to an access violation but I'm not sure what this indicates:

1606.665875,00103,0d02: Invoking menu item Duplicate...
1607.521528,00103,0b09: Local wall clock: 4/16/2024 14:20:55
1607.869200,00103,0f09: Progress: Duplicating Tracks...
1607.869416,00103,000f: TTrack::SetUID = xaqmrkorYDaaaaGk
1607.894545,00103,0033: SMgr_DSPCache::InstantiatePlugIn - pluginType: Native, name: "Kontakt 7", track "Violas Leg SFCS.dup1"
1608.009247,00103,0033: SMgr_DSPCache::FreePlugIn - pluginType: Native, name: "Kontakt 7", track "Violas Leg SFCS.dup1"
1608.014688,00103,0033: SMgr_DSPCache::InstantiatePlugIn - pluginType: Native, name: "Kontakt 7", track "Violas Leg SFCS.dup1"
1608.502721,00103,0033: SMgr_DSPCache::SetMixerNumInputPorts - (0x313039be0), num input ports: 20, name: "Mix Bus"
1608.503039,00103,0033: SMgr_DSPCache::SetMixerNumInputPorts - results - numActualInputs: 20, numActualOutputs: 2, err = 0
1608.672138,00103,0f09: Progress: Checking clips for Clip Effects...
1611.706428,00103,0f09: Progress: Checking clips for Clip Effects...
1611.708857,00103,0d02: Processing TTracker: Reorder Tracks
1613.014880,00103,0d02: Performing TCommand: Reorder Tracks
1615.542147,00103,0f09: Progress: Checking clips for Clip Effects...
1615.544648,00103,0d02: Processing TTracker: Reorder Tracks
1626.564450,00103,0d02: Performing TCommand: Rename Track - From " Violas Leg SFCS.dup1 " to " Celli Leg SFCS "
1631.628332,13e03,0e0f: Access Violation:
Stacktrace:

Apparently you cannot call Avid for help without a support plan and my emails to support have been ignored. Not sure at this point what the point is of paying for Pro Tools as the releases are broken and there is zero support. Very frustrating.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-16-2024, 01:40 PM
loopzilla2 loopzilla2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 145
Default Re: 2024.3 Bugs to Confirm

My patch names work well in 2024.3.

Come to think of it, I had to rename them to match what Audio-Midi Setup in OSX renamed them. Can't remember when I had to do that... recently.

Check that your MIDNAM file is named exactly what Audio-Midi Setup expects. For example, 'Virus-TI Snow' will not recognize a MIDNAM file called 'Virus TI Snow' (note the missing dashes) or 'Virus-TI.'

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2024, 02:39 PM
Redpony Redpony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 23
Default Re: 2024.3 Bugs to Confirm

Hi,

Thanks for the response. Yes, the naming of the model property needs to be the same in both files. I got them working now but for me placement of the files made a difference. I had the patch names working in 2023.9 on my trashcan Mac. Migrating the same files to my Mac Studio didn't work until I placed them in the Digidesign Device List and the Avid folder. Digital Performer expects the files to be in its Motu folder, which led me to that solution.

One thing about Audio Midi, if you make changes to the middev file they may not be recognized by it even after a restart. I had to change the model name and then reselect it for the device parameters to be updated. Very finicky.

Duplicating a track with Kontakt 7 or the Spitfire player crashes Pro Tools pretty consistently for me.

PS: I replied earlier with an update that the patch names were working but for some reason it did not appear.

Last edited by Redpony; 04-16-2024 at 02:41 PM. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2024, 07:45 AM
Redpony Redpony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 23
Default Re: 2024.3 Bugs to Confirm

Can anyone running Sonoma 14.4.1 and Pro Tools 2024.3.1 confirm that the shortcut shift F works for them and opens and closes folders?

I just followed Avid's steps for uninstalling Pro Tools (and also deleted the plugin cache) and with a fresh install of Pro Tools with nothing added to it the shortcut still does not work for me.

Not sure if this an indication of an underlying problem on my machine or a bug.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-18-2024, 07:03 AM
Redpony Redpony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 23
Default Re: 2024.3 Bugs to Confirm

For the folders bug I've since discovered it doesn't occur when link track and edit selection is turned on.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-18-2024, 10:03 AM
marianna's Avatar
marianna marianna is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Apollo Beach Florida
Posts: 635
Default Re: 2024.3 Bugs to Confirm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redpony View Post
For the folders bug I've since discovered it doesn't occur when link track and edit selection is turned on.
Hi there....

I created a new case for the 2 issues reported besides the patch names.

04790460

- Sending midi clock to my Prophet 12 causes random notes and locks up the synth. Midi clock works fine with my other DAWs (Cubase and Live).

- In the score editor I do not see a way to not display the folder a track is in, which is a waste of space. Worse, if you enter a note into the staff for the folder track Pro Tools crashes.

A tech will reach out.

Marianna
__________________
Marianna Montague
Sr. Dir. CX and Community | Customer Advocate

[email protected]
cell +1 (813) 493-6800
AOL IM avidmarianna
Twitter Avidmarianna


We're Avid. Learn more at www.avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-18-2024, 02:00 PM
Redpony Redpony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 23
Default Re: 2024.3 Bugs to Confirm

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GetTrackList command still returns an empty array here - Pro Tools 2024.3/SDK 2024.3 GRT Pro Tools Scripting SDK Toolkit 6 03-19-2024 01:11 PM
11.1.2 on Mountain Lion bugs bugs bugs. command+f, elastic audio, discoloration farmfresh Pro Tools 11 21 05-01-2014 07:21 PM
8.1 Can you confirm a bug? Wolfgang Eller Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 09-21-2010 10:59 AM
Just to confirm mario ebrio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 02-20-2008 07:33 PM
Bugs in my box - no, REAL BUGS !!!!!!!!! Mixtrix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-25-2006 06:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com