Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2002, 10:20 PM
Brimmy Brimmy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 21
Default SMPTE Slave Diver

I have just replaced my old Nubus PT111 with a spanking new 24mix plus running on a G4.My SMPTE slave driver however,is an old machine with mini DIN type conectors. Does anyone know of any adaptors which would allow me to still use this external hardware with the new PCI system.
__________________
joseph
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2002, 01:27 AM
Ask Otis Ask Otis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York,NY
Posts: 180
Default Re: SMPTE Slave Diver

you can either get a g-port adapter which will replace your modem, or hook it up to your midi interface and set the midi sysex switch to midi.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2002, 02:37 PM
Redmann Redmann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Pacifica, CA USA
Posts: 190
Default Re: SMPTE Slave Diver

A friendly reminder: don't forget to set up your devices and/or deck in OMS. If I recall, the SSD will show up in OMS as a generic midi interface.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2002, 11:54 PM
Ask Otis Ask Otis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New York,NY
Posts: 180
Default Re: SMPTE Slave Diver

Here is something you will find usefull:

" configured properly:

-Connect the SSD to a serial port on the Mac and make
sure the switch on the back of the SSD is set to the
Mac Port.

-Launch OMS Setup and search for interfaces on
whichever port it is connected to. OMS will recognize
the SSD as a Standard MIDI Interface.

-In the OMS setup window, create a new device
(Studio->New Device). Leave Manufacturer and Model
unselected (or set to ÒotherÓ), name the device ÒSSDÓ,
enable the sends and receives MTC check boxes and
deselect everything else. Save the setup and quit OMS.

-In Pro Tools, enable Run In Background and make sure
the selected port is checked in the MIDI Studio Setup
under the setups menu.

-Make sure that MIDI Thru and Active in Background are
selected in the Options window.

-Set Synchronization in the Peripherals window to
SMPTE Slave Driver and sends to port ÒSSDÓ. Put PT
online and feed SMPTE into the SSD."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT9 Slave to SMPTE funkntech 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-18-2010 11:49 AM
Smpte slave driver the_dr38 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-30-2010 10:44 AM
Slave HD to SMPTE fab Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-17-2003 08:56 AM
SMPTE Slave Driver / PT 4.01 dodl Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-15-2001 01:11 PM
Old Smpte Slave Driver musicfamily Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 08-15-2000 08:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com