Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2004, 12:49 PM
dhlovett dhlovett is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 7
Default Anyone using 17\" PowerBook G4 1.5GHz with HD Accel

I am considering the purchase of a PowerBook 1.5 GHz, 17 inch laptop for use with a Magma FireWire expansion chassis. The ProTools system would be either an HD1 or HD2 Accel, and my intent would be to use FireWire 800 drives for recording. Installed memory in the laptop would be 1.5GB, using OS X 10.3.4.

I am aware this PowerBook is presently not qualified, so I know that there is some risk. Still, my application makes such a system very appealing. So...

- Does anyone else use this configuration or one similar?
- Do you have any suggestions for how to make such a system work correctly?
- Are there any pitfalls I need to be aware of?
- Would you recommend ProTools 6.4?
- What track count are you able to achieve with your system?

Thank you for your help!
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2004, 03:59 PM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: Anyone using 17\" PowerBook G4 1.5GHz with HD Accel

For the record.

My system:
G4 Ti PB 400Mhz
OS 10.2.8
Magma CB4
PT 6.2 HD2 Accel

My little PB 400 is not blessed by Digi but it has been running like a champ since the beginning of the year.
You will most likely be limited in track count. Check here. But I haven't max out my system yet so I can't verify how deep you could go.
Some day my system will grow up to be a G5 dual.

Digi, I would be more than willing to test 6.4 w/ my system to verify.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2004, 08:14 PM
tha k man tha k man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,024
Default Re: Anyone using 17\" PowerBook G4 1.5GHz with HD Accel

Although not qualified by Digi, have set up ;

PB G4 15" 1.33/10.3.4
PT 6.4 - HD2, and Magma Chassis
LaCie firewire drives
No major problems to date.

F.Y.I
__________________

G5 Dual 1.8 /1.5 Gb Ram
OSX 10.4.7
PT LE 7.3 cs1
DIGI 002
Waves Ren
Sony Bundle
Soundtoys-arama
NI Komplete 3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerbook 15", 1.5GHz, vs. 1.67GHz JCBigler 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 06-28-2005 02:21 AM
powerbook g4 1.5ghz 12inch screen ggmmss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-22-2005 08:57 PM
Powerbook 1.5ghz ---vrs--- PC 3ghz a2zproductions 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-02-2004 09:12 PM
TDM 6.4 w/ Powerbook 1.5Ghz & magma 4 slot chassis mwingerski Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 10-17-2004 11:54 PM
POWERBOOK G4 1.5GHZ WITH PRO TOOLS MBOX Ragpicker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 05-22-2004 12:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com