Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-10-2014, 01:10 PM

Default Pro Tools 8LE Install Disks are bad

First off, I apologize for putting this Pro Tools 8 thread here, but I did not see a specific forum just for 8.

I am a PC/Network Tech for a school district. A teacher needed help installing Pro Tools 8LE on both Windows and Mac machines. The install discs are brand new, however, all machines fail to recognize the disks at all. I have used 3 separate copies of the discs, all brand new, still in the shrink wrap.

The installer disk AND the "audio loops and sounds" disk fails on every machine we have tried it on.

Is this a known issue? Was there a bad batch released? Is it possible to get either replacements disks or a link to download the installer for both Windows and Mac? Also, is there a way to download the audio loops and sounds as well?

Thanks for your help.
Old 02-11-2014, 09:25 AM

Default Re: Pro Tools 8LE Install Disks are bad

Yes, there were tons of bad LE8 disks. Once you register the software, you can access a download for it. Kind of curious and worried that you are wanting to install version 8 when 10/11 are the current versions, and depending on the OS, LE8 may not work on your computers(and LE MUST be used with one of a handful of Digidesign/Avid interfaces, including Mbox 2nd gen, Mbox 3rd gen, 002 and 003). Original Mbox(light blue with Focusrite preamps) only works with LE8.0.1, which means Windows XP(not Win7, 8) and I'm not sure which version of OSX.

The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Old 02-12-2014, 07:28 AM

what he said ^^^^^^^^^
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue

http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.