How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-02-2011, 06:45 PM

Default PT licensing confusion/question

I'm a little confused ...

I have an HD|3 with PTHD8. I bought the hardware used (no transfer of ownership), and the PTHD8 license from a seller on Ebay. I've been running this system for almost 2 years.

Last year, I purchased Digi's MassivePak8 from Sweetwater. At the time of purchase, they asked for my core card's serial number. I gave it to them, and the sale went through with no problem, even thought the card is obviously not registered to me.

So, CAN I purchase and install the PTHD9 upgrade for $350 or not? At what point is the core card serial # required - during purchase or during install?

I was under the impression that I could purchase the upgrade online, and that the installation would see the valid HD8 license on my iLok, detect my hardware, and proceed. Am I mistaken about that?

Thanks!
Old 02-02-2011, 09:37 PM

Default Re: PT licensing confusion/question

On the LE side of things, I was asked for the serial number to my Digi002 after the purchase and before the download. My guess is that you will have no problem, unless the person you bought it from kept the serial number on file and used it recently to purchase PT9 for themselves. I assume they keep track of it that way... but that is pure speculation on my part.
Old 02-02-2011, 10:12 PM

I think the OddsAre probably right.
Old 02-02-2011, 10:15 PM

Hmm that's helpful, but I hope I can find out definitively, cause it would suck if I purchase the upgrade, then run into a snag with the serial number when trying to download!
Old 02-03-2011, 12:29 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bender412 View Post