Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2009, 04:25 PM
chanlon25 chanlon25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 55
Default PT 8 with Avid Fibre Mgr 5.1 WILL NOT Open let me open Sessions!

HI - I recently updated from Pro Tools 7.4.2 to Pro Tools 8.0 (cs2) and whenever I open an old 7.4.2 session with Avid Fibre Manager 5.1 open, PT crashes. I can open a new session in PT 8 - but as soon as I import an OMF off of our Unity drives, PT will crash (assertion error / altura ports).

Any idea what's going on?

OSX 10.5.6 / G5 2x2.5 / Avid Unity 5.1 / Fibre Manager 5.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-2009, 09:46 AM
chanlon25 chanlon25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 55
Default Re: PT 8 with Avid Fibre Mgr 5.1 WILL NOT Open let me open Sessions!

To elaborate further - here are my specs:
G5 2 x 2.7
Mac OSX.5.6
PT 8.0cs2
Digi 192 - latest firmware
Sync I/O - latest firmware

Avid Unity Media Network FibreManager 5.1.2 (430)
ATTO Celerity FC-42XS (PCI X)

All my cards are in the slots approved by Avid. The issue becomes whenever I try to pull audio/ video from the drive (whether opening a session with an previously imported OMF or trying to import an OMF) I get the following error:

Could not complete the Open Session... comman because Assertion in "/Volumes/Development/vb_protools_8.0_cpr_2/AturaPorts/Fic/MacBuild/.../Source/DiskScheduler/Volume/CDiskVolumeMacOS9.cpp", line 214.

In some cases, when I bring an OMF, PT immediately crashes.

This exact same set up worked fine with ProTools 7.4.2 c2 in the same push/pull scenario. Digi - any idea what's different with PT 8 to get this error?

In the meantime, I'll have to downgrade to 7.4.2cs2 to continue working with Avid Unity.



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-02-2009, 11:08 AM
chanlon25 chanlon25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 55
Default Re: PT 8 with Avid Fibre Mgr 5.1 WILL NOT Open let me open Sessions!

One other note: whenever I mount or unmount drives on Unity using Fibre Manager, I get the above error. This conflict seems project independent, since I have PTHD 8 open when mounting/ unmounting drives, but have no projects open.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2009, 09:41 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: PT 8 with Avid Fibre Mgr 5.1 WILL NOT Open let me open Sessions!

I don't have the specifics handy at the moment about what, exactly, is causing the issue, but I do know that we've logged it and a fix is being worked on. I'll try to get an estimated date for release of a fix, but can't guarantee that I'll be able to or even that it will be accurate, since several issues are usually rolled into any particular CS release.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2009, 10:11 AM
chanlon25 chanlon25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 55
Default Re: PT 8 with Avid Fibre Mgr 5.1 WILL NOT Open let me open Sessions!

Thank you so much for looking into this; we'll keep an eye out for the next CS to see if there's a fix. In the meantime, we'll keep on 7.4.2.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot open PT9 Session in PT10 - ""could not complete the open sessions command..." median Pro Tools 10 5 10-01-2013 11:14 AM
DTS: Will the new more open avid open up Eucon? RyanC Artist Series 2 01-13-2012 10:31 AM
sessions always open with mix window track list open jaglance Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-03-2009 06:03 PM
Help! Need to open PT 5.xLE sessions in PT 8LE JuanFerVal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 04-05-2009 09:27 AM
Will 6.4 open 6.7 sessions Cawbaby Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-31-2004 03:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com