Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2002, 07:05 AM
gabriel_p gabriel_p is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 792
Default Digidesign supporting XP all the way!

Check out the Digidesign hompepage, Digi is clearly supporting the Xp platform and pushing LE with PCs,...nice. At last David Sumich has convinced them [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

XP is stable, half the price of MACS, same quality end product, double the plugin count! what else would digi use to push forward the LE market. [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
__________________
Take Care,
Gabriel.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-17-2002, 07:34 AM
Mark_Knecht Mark_Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,500
Default Re: Digidesign supporting XP all the way!

So who's bought a dual processor machine and seen this puppy go faster under XP Pro?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-17-2002, 08:57 AM
gabriel_p gabriel_p is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 792
Default Re: Digidesign supporting XP all the way!

Can you imagine that? NICE.
__________________
Take Care,
Gabriel.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-17-2002, 10:27 AM
Swaphappy Swaphappy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,713
Default Re: Digidesign supporting XP all the way!

It WOULD be nice to have dual processor support,
if you ever decide to do it Digi.
Oh, and dual video monitor support too.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2002, 11:48 AM
David Sumich's Avatar
David Sumich David Sumich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Daly City, CA USA
Posts: 362
Default Re: Digidesign supporting XP all the way!

Quote:
Originally posted by gabriel_p:
Check out the Degidesign hompepage, Digi is clearly supporting the Xp platform and pushing LE with PCs,...nice. At last David Sumich has convinced them [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I didn't do anything! Digi knows. I'm just one of the few that you hear from, but trust me, Digi knows! [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
__________________
David Sumich
Principal Applications Engineer
Avid
--------------------
We're only immortal for a limited time
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2002, 01:04 PM
riesesdad_atwork riesesdad_atwork is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 148
Default Re: Digidesign supporting XP all the way!

Quote:
Originally posted by Phil O'Keefe:
<blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Originally posted by Mark_Knecht:
So who's bought a dual processor machine and seen this puppy go faster under XP Pro?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">My understanding is that while XP Pro is now "officially" supported, dual processor machines and XP Pro are still a no-go. [img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img]

More's the pity! [img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img]
<hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I realize that dual processors are 'no-go' but that hasn't stopped most people in the past around here. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

It would be interesting if someone with a dual processor machine would give it a try, just for laughs.....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-17-2002, 03:07 PM
gabriel_p gabriel_p is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 792
Default Re: Digidesign supporting XP all the way!

Quote:
Originally posted by David Sumich:
<blockquote><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<hr /><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Originally posted by gabriel_p:
Check out the Degidesign hompepage, Digi is clearly supporting the Xp platform and pushing LE with PCs,...nice. At last David Sumich has convinced them [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I didn't do anything! Digi knows. I'm just one of the few that you hear from, but trust me, Digi knows! [img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img] <hr /></blockquote><font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">uuuuuuuuh DIGI KNOWS! we're in trouble now... [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
Take Care,
Gabriel.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-17-2002, 03:51 PM
marcusb marcusb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,040
Default Re: Digidesign supporting XP all the way!

Quote:
Originally posted by riesesdad_atwork:
It would be interesting if someone with a dual processor machine would give it a try, just for laughs.....
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">It was tried during the beta test period (whatever happened to Frank Siliano) and the machine simply would BSOD as soon as the DALWDM.SYS driver would load if dual processors were enabled. I'd recommend people only 'try' it if they know what they are doing, but I can pretty safely say it won't work.

Cheers,
Marcus
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-17-2002, 04:43 PM
DanyL DanyL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Montreal
Posts: 279
Default Re: Digidesign supporting XP all the way!

I think its simple, who is Protools competitor in the pro software ? Emagic Logic !!! Emagic is owned by ? Apple computers. So do you think digidesign is gonna exclusive to one platform like Apple, when Apple is their competition ?
That is why Digidesign is gonna boost support on Windows XP platform.
Also, Digidesign is owned by: Avid technology.
Avid software runs on what platform ? tadam Windows !!!
1+1=2
I think my post is gonna be erased pretty fast.
[img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-17-2002, 04:51 PM
David Sumich's Avatar
David Sumich David Sumich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Daly City, CA USA
Posts: 362
Default Re: Digidesign supporting XP all the way!

Why would your post be erased, for voicing your opinion??? [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
__________________
David Sumich
Principal Applications Engineer
Avid
--------------------
We're only immortal for a limited time
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waves Will NOT Be Supporting AAX-DSP!!! blairl Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 284 08-21-2012 06:20 AM
Will DigiDesign stay supporting Apple/OSX ProToolsMac Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 54 04-25-2005 11:22 AM
Will Digidesign be supporting OS X and LOGIC X? Fucius General Discussion 13 09-24-2002 08:56 PM
Supporting 5.1surround afj Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 01-14-2000 02:10 AM
PT/NT 4.2.5 supporting PT/Mix hardware? DNS Studios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 02-10-1999 03:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com