Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2010, 09:25 AM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 627
Default Pre-fader/Post fader question

OK, dumb question here.... I understand if I'm bussing a audio track to an AUX track that has an effect on it, and I move the audio track fader, and the signal on the AUX track moves up and down, that would be a post fader set-up, right? If that's so, that must be the default for PTMP? So, how do you change the default to be a pre-fader AUX track, and why would you want/need it? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2010, 10:04 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Pre-fader/Post fader question

If you route the audio outputs on the audio track to the aux audio inputs, I guess you could call it a post-fader scenario.

But in Pro Tools there are pre-/post-fader sends, and pre-/post-fader inserts.

All insert slots on all types of tracks are pre-fader, except the insert slots on Master faders. They are post-fader.

The sends on all types of tracks are post-fader when created, but can be switched to pre-fader by clicking the "pre" button in the send window.

If you set a post-fader send to unity gain (zero) on an audio track, the send volume will mirror whatever the audio track fader is set to.

However, if the send is pre-fader it's detached from the track fader. You can mute the audio track, but the pre-fader send will still throughput signal as set by the send fader.

A common use for pre-fader sends are setting up a headphone mix for the talent that can be totally different from the main/control room mix. I can for instance give the vocalist a basic headphones mix without say dobros and slide guitars, which possibly would make it easier to stay on pitch whilst recording vocals.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2010, 10:15 AM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 627
Default Re: Pre-fader/Post fader question

Thanks for the insight. Think I've got it.. !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basic Gain Structure Fader/Master Fader Question acmost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-16-2011 05:36 AM
pre fader / post fader in pt8 converted 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-17-2009 11:21 AM
pre-fader/post fader help HB1978 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-19-2009 07:53 PM
Pre Fader/Post fader advantages sricabla 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-26-2005 01:53 PM
Pre or Post fader JLEpperson Tips & Tricks 4 07-15-2000 11:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com