Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2005, 04:36 PM
ajazzie ajazzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 739
Default Playing audio too fast? HELP!!!!!!

Has anyone ever come accross this one??

Turning on in the morning and every audio file I choose to play, either in Protools, toast or peak, plays faster than the normal rate, changing the pitch like a tape deck that plays tapes too fast??


WTF??

After a reboot, it settles back too normal, however this has happened to me twice now and I am seriously concerned.

Please help.




THis is on a dedicated audio drive, OS 9.2 ptools 5.*, G4 1.25ghtz
__________________
A Gentleman is one who can play the bagpipes, yet chooses not to.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2005, 04:46 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Playing audio too fast? HELP!!!!!!

Is you USD VSOed?

I had a problem like this once where the VSO was left on and after quitting ProTools Jam was affected.
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2005, 04:49 PM
spinsong spinsong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NY.NY
Posts: 150
Default Re: Playing audio too fast? HELP!!!!!!

sounds like your sample playback rate has changed from 44.1k to 48k. or 88.2 to 96..or some other combination in between. that results in everything sounding faster. solution..go back to your previous setting in the hardware setup window. seems like the computer did it on its own though.
__________________
spinsong.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2005, 05:21 PM
ajazzie ajazzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 739
Default Re: Playing audio too fast? HELP!!!!!!

Craig\Spinsong, this happened from a start up with everything off.

I first tried to burn a mastered file with toast , however I hit play and it was too fast,Sample settings hadnt changed, a cold boot fixed the problem but nothing obviousseemed wrong, the scary thing is that its happened twice??
__________________
A Gentleman is one who can play the bagpipes, yet chooses not to.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2005, 05:33 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Playing audio too fast? HELP!!!!!!

the VSO stays locked in the USD until you go into ProTools and turn it off. even from a cold boot.

do you have an external Word Clock generator?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2005, 05:37 PM
ripple FX ripple FX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Indianapolis, IN USA
Posts: 435
Default Re: Playing audio too fast? HELP!!!!!!

Ah yes, OS9. Is it possible at some point you've had a PT session that was 48K. This confuses applications that use Sound Manager, which want to run at 44.1K. If you quit a 48KHz PT session and then use a SM app, like Toast, etc., SM will play 44.1KHz material with a 48KHz clock, thus making everything faster and higher (48/44.1)% As I recall, you need to toggle the sample rate on your PT interface back to 44.1 before using any SM apps. I can't recall what the utility is that lets you do that without opening PT - sorry, it's been awhile since I used OS9.

Cheers,
Chris
__________________
http://www.ripplefx.com
Mac Pro 8 core 3.0GHz Harpertown
Magma PE6R4I - HD 3 Accel +1 Process
Control 24 - 96io - 1622
OSX 10.6.8 - PTHD 10.3.10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2005, 05:38 PM
ajazzie ajazzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 739
Default Re: Playing audio too fast? HELP!!!!!!

Thanks Craig,

VSO is off, no extnl word clock attached.
__________________
A Gentleman is one who can play the bagpipes, yet chooses not to.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2005, 06:43 PM
spinsong spinsong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NY.NY
Posts: 150
Default Re: Playing audio too fast? HELP!!!!!!

check the face of your interface when this is happening.. is it on 44.1 k or 48k..there you will be able to see the culprit..to change..go to control panel...I think its sound... then switch back to the right playback rate

don't have os 9 in front of me now so I can't say for sure..but I'm pretty sure it's sound in the control panel.

another workaround... boot up protools in the right sample rate...it should change the preferences back to normal
__________________
spinsong.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 playing video back way too fast asaffulks Pro Tools 11 6 09-13-2013 06:41 AM
Bounces playing back fast blackbirdstudio macOS 3 06-22-2012 11:32 AM
Streaming audio files are playing fast,help please! postman56 Post - Surround - Video 1 06-05-2007 01:08 PM
iTunes playing too fast Eric Heil Tips & Tricks 1 06-14-2004 10:23 PM
Masterlist cd playing fast mark linett Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 01-18-2000 12:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com