Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2004, 08:56 AM
EasyStreet EasyStreet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 22
Default How to do +12 fader on ProControl ?

I've been waiting about a week for somebody else to ask the dumb question - so here goes:

In the new PT version 6.4 we can do +12 on a channel fader (instead of +6).
Anybody know how this will work on a ProControl, whose top range of the fader is stenciled at +6?
Will it just say +6 and BE +12, will it be a setting, what?
__________________
EasyStreet
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2004, 10:05 AM
ekuehnl's Avatar
ekuehnl ekuehnl is offline
ACI/ALP Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 665
Default Re: How to do +12 fader on ProControl ?

Quote:
Will it just say +6 and BE +12,
Yes.

Quote:

will it be a setting, what?

When you make a new session you will be able to choose +6 or +12. The first time you open an older session Pro Tools will ask if you want to switch it to a +12 session. The automation data will not change (it will still be based on +6), but subsequent automation passes can take advantage of +12.

Be aware that changing the session to +12 may cause problems if you take it back to a +6 system. Any data above +6 will simply plateau at +6.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2004, 10:11 AM
charles maynes charles maynes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 69
Default Re: How to do +12 fader on ProControl ?

One of the people I work with has 6.4 LE, and here is what I found-


There is a choice when creating sessions to use the standard "+6" volume behavior, or the new "+12" behavior" It seems that the best way to deal with it outside of 6.4 is to simply put a trim plugin on your master buss and set it for +6 before you start mixing.

I think this would be fine for 24 bit sessions, but Dither would be needed.


Charles Maynes
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2004, 04:03 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: How to do +12 fader on ProControl ?

Quote:
It seems that the best way to deal with it outside of 6.4 is to simply put a trim plugin on your master buss and set it for +6 before you start mixing.
No... -1dB on 6.4 would still be -1dB on 6.1.x and earlier.. but if you place a trim plug-in with +6dB your -1 on 6.4 will be +5dB.

If you plan to go back to an earlier version of Pro Tools I suggest keep using +6dB as your max fader value.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2004, 05:03 PM
charles maynes charles maynes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 69
Default Re: How to do +12 fader on ProControl ?

Rail-

Thanks for the info-


I have not used 6.4, but only got the info from the LE system we have here.

A question though-

If you start a session in the +12 mode, then move it on to a non 6.4 system, does the level drop 6db? I am curious, because it could cause all sorts of session compatibility problems.


I would think that the 6.4 mixer would handle this, but earlier mixers would be unaware of the session pref.



Best Regards-

Charles Maynes
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2004, 11:03 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: How to do +12 fader on ProControl ?

Any volume level above 6dB will plateau at +6dB.. everything else will be the same.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-04-2004, 11:31 AM
CLee CLee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Chicago
Posts: 404
Default Re: How to do +12 fader on ProControl ?

So if your PC says +6 at the top of the fader but your gain in PT is +12 is zero going to be at zero or -6 (which isn't marked) ?
__________________
Craig Lee@Cerny American
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-04-2004, 02:52 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: How to do +12 fader on ProControl ?

Zero is always zero.. it's a simple matter that instead of 6dB above zero.. you have the option of +12dB like on a normal analog console.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-05-2004, 09:21 AM
CLee CLee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Chicago
Posts: 404
Default Re: How to do +12 fader on ProControl ?

I was just wondering how that lines up with the gain scale screening on the faders
__________________
Craig Lee@Cerny American
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-08-2004, 03:03 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: How to do +12 fader on ProControl ?

Quote:
I was just wondering how that lines up with the gain scale screening on the faders
Zero will be zero - and where it is screened +6dB would be +12dB. If this is an issue for you.. simply always keep your sessions at +6dB.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS:24 Fader ProControl ZEUSS Buy & Sell 10 01-12-2015 09:35 PM
ProControl Fader Dead gearhead2010 ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 16 02-26-2010 09:52 PM
Would you buy a 48 fader ProControl rig now? guitar012001 ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 5 08-15-2009 05:46 PM
'Fader Pack' and ProControl Fader order issue Ciaran ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 03-21-2005 11:58 PM
ProControl Fader engineerjoel ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 01-30-2004 09:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com