Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2011, 12:00 PM
jeremiahmoore jeremiahmoore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 482
Default PT10 interop with PT9/8/7 -- Can PT10 force .ptf compatible audio?

I'm thinking about PT10 interop with PT9/8/7. (Don't we all work with a few people who are still on 7?)

So there's a new .ptx session file format, and the option to "save backwards" to .ptf.

But when it comes to the audio media, since we now have support for polyphonic and mixed bit-rate audio, audio files compatibility is not a given.

I'm sure you can "save-in" and recopy all the media, but let's say you want to avoid the duplication and accompanying hassles.

Is there a way to force PT10 to conform to the old way (monophonic files, session-based bit rate) for all imported?

Can anyone with PT10 confirm?

-jeremiah
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2011, 05:22 PM
charles maynes charles maynes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 69
Default Re: PT10 interop with PT9/8/7 -- Can PT10 force .ptf compatible audio?

in its default state, PT10 behaves as PT9 as far as audio files go- in the prefs you can specify if you wish to use interleaved files....

when you export as a PT7--9 session it converts the realtime fades and clip gain goes to automation.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2011, 07:12 PM
jeremiahmoore jeremiahmoore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 482
Default Re: PT10 interop with PT9/8/7 -- Can PT10 force .ptf compatible audio?

Thanks Charles -

So I assume you can "save copy in" without recopying the media, and moving between 10 and 7--9 is as simple as "save copy" (and being careful how you handle the incompatible features.)

-jeremiah
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2011, 04:14 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,612
Default Re: PT10 interop with PT9/8/7 -- Can PT10 force .ptf compatible audio?

speaking of interleaved files:
can you still do the same tricks to them like with split files? swap tracks via mono tracks. nudge left and right against each other via mono tracks. or are they now tied together so that you can't use all those beloved tricks of the trade?

frank
__________________
PTHDn 2021.7 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2011, 06:15 AM
xbook xbook is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: West LA, CA
Posts: 105
Default Re: PT10 interop with PT9/8/7 -- Can PT10 force .ptf compatible audio?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
speaking of interleaved files:
can you still do the same tricks to them like with split files? swap tracks via mono tracks. nudge left and right against each other via mono tracks. or are they now tied together so that you can't use all those beloved tricks of the trade?

frank
the files in the finder, or windows explorer are one file. When it's in PT, it acts just like it always has. You aren't losing ANY functionality from PT9 to PT10.
__________________
Blah blah blah....grumble grumble....woo hoo woo hoo.....dig it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-24-2011, 12:39 AM
lode lode is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 607
Default Re: PT10 interop with PT9/8/7 -- Can PT10 force .ptf compatible audio?

I assume the audio files are converted to whatever the session uses as they is lifted into RAM?

I get a feeling AVID thought:
What happens if we preload all audio into RAM? What is available to us then?

And suddenly we have realtime fades, premixer gain, and support for different audioformats. (possibly it also opened for AS with handles)

All of which are fantastic things. (Well, the gazillion fade files never bothered me much...)
__________________
Newest Pro Tools on mac & pc.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2011, 01:58 PM
sounddroid sounddroid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 52
Default Re: PT10 interop with PT9/8/7 -- Can PT10 force .ptf compatible audio?

Unfortunately, there doesn't currently seem to be any way to ONLY process the non-standard files, either in the project browser, or when doing a Save Copy conversion. You are forced to copy ALL files if there is even one "offender". I really hope Avid fixes this.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-25-2011, 02:13 PM
Danny Caccavo Danny Caccavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,281
Default Re: PT10 interop with PT9/8/7 -- Can PT10 force .ptf compatible audio?

The only way to automatically cause imported files to be "legacy friendly" is to force imported files to be copied in "legacy friendly" format by doing the following -

Check the "automatically copy files on import" preference AND
Check the "Convert Copied Files to Session Format" preference

dc
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-25-2011, 09:55 PM
jeremiahmoore jeremiahmoore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 482
Default

Thanks Danny! Thats exactly what I was hoping for. Perfect.

-j


Sent from inner space
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pt 8 files compatible with pt10 muscmp macOS 3 06-24-2013 11:22 PM
Force PT10 to make a "Fade Files" folder when saving .ptf? gguardia Pro Tools 10 2 06-15-2012 01:50 PM
11R compatible with PT10 stand alone? billyrides Eleven Rack 13 03-13-2012 10:39 PM
ReverbOne 1.0 (MS-134) compatible with PT10? NewdestinyX macOS 5 01-04-2012 07:50 PM
Duy compatible with PT10 and Lion? lee52813 macOS 14 01-04-2012 07:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com