Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2009, 10:12 PM
Von_Dingle Von_Dingle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Default PT M-Powered 8 and MIDI to Virtual Instrument

I am trying to import a MIDI track into Pro Tools M-Powered 8 and have then run OUT into an Input on an Audio track running BFD 2 Lite for drums. I followed a short tutorial on this topic and I am unable to find an appropriate OUTPUT on my MIDI track to send it to my audio track. According to the tutorial, on the MIDI track, under IO I should be able to Output to my Audio track, but I only see:
http://i452.photobucket.com/albums/q...DIproblem1.jpg

How can I send a MIDI source to an Audio track to use a drum sampler like BFD2?

Thanks!
David
__________________
MAC RIG
Make/Model: ProjectMix I/O and an Avid MBox Mini 3rd gen.
Operating System: OSX 10.6.8 Lion
Processor: Intel Core i7 2.2 Ghz
RAM: 8 GB
Monitors: M-Audio BX5a
MIDI Controller: Axiom Pro 49 and Oxygen 25 3rd gen
DAW Software: Pro Tools 10.3.8
Outboard: UA LA-610MkII and UAD-2 DSP and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2009, 07:33 AM
LSW LSW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 342
Default Re: PT M-Powered 8 and MIDI to Virtual Instrument

Create an instrument track (not an audio track) and place an instance of BFD on it. Then assign that your output to that instance of BFD - it will display in the list the same as those others..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2009, 10:18 AM
Von_Dingle Von_Dingle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: PT M-Powered 8 and MIDI to Virtual Instrument

Quote:
Originally Posted by LSW View Post
Create an instrument track (not an audio track) and place an instance of BFD on it. Then assign that your output to that instance of BFD - it will display in the list the same as those others..
Thanks for the quick reply! I'll try that when I get home from work tonight and I'll let you know how it worked out for me.
__________________
MAC RIG
Make/Model: ProjectMix I/O and an Avid MBox Mini 3rd gen.
Operating System: OSX 10.6.8 Lion
Processor: Intel Core i7 2.2 Ghz
RAM: 8 GB
Monitors: M-Audio BX5a
MIDI Controller: Axiom Pro 49 and Oxygen 25 3rd gen
DAW Software: Pro Tools 10.3.8
Outboard: UA LA-610MkII and UAD-2 DSP and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2009, 08:43 AM
Von_Dingle Von_Dingle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: PT M-Powered 8 and MIDI to Virtual Instrument

LSW,
Thanks for the help, that worked perfectly! I was used to the way I had to do it in Cakewalk and Sonor where I had to create an Audio track AND a MIDI track and send MIDI to the Audio input. The Pro Tools Instrument tracks makes things a lot easier.
__________________
MAC RIG
Make/Model: ProjectMix I/O and an Avid MBox Mini 3rd gen.
Operating System: OSX 10.6.8 Lion
Processor: Intel Core i7 2.2 Ghz
RAM: 8 GB
Monitors: M-Audio BX5a
MIDI Controller: Axiom Pro 49 and Oxygen 25 3rd gen
DAW Software: Pro Tools 10.3.8
Outboard: UA LA-610MkII and UAD-2 DSP and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2009, 04:13 PM
LSW LSW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 342
Default Re: PT M-Powered 8 and MIDI to Virtual Instrument

Glad you got it working. The theory is the same, it's just an instrument track in PT. Also I didn't mention, and I don't know if you ended up setting it up this way anyway - you don't actually need the MIDI track - the MIDI data and instrument can all be part of the instrument track itself. It just depends on how you want to split things up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 MIDI Controllers for 2 Virtual Instrument tracks simonzero MIDI 2 06-27-2012 07:50 PM
MIDI and Virtual Instrument Performance? Tbassist4 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-07-2008 07:10 PM
virtual instrument midi track problem acappellajosh MIDI 3 04-12-2006 10:53 AM
Odd Midi/Virtual Instrument Problems with PT7+ GlennR01 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-17-2006 07:43 PM
External midi key can't control virtual instrument Riccardo Corbari Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-09-2005 04:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com