Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-16-2023, 11:15 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,349
Default Re: StreamDeck integration with DADman



Thanks for the fix. All patched up!
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.7, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 4TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Pro Tools Ult 2022.12, RME BBF ProMac Mini 14,12 - 12 core - macOS 13.2RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 core
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-16-2023, 11:22 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,190
Default Re: StreamDeck integration with DADman

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post


Thanks for the fix. All patched up!
Are you on 122? 121 didn’t quite fix it!
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-16-2023, 11:41 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,349
Default Re: StreamDeck integration with DADman

Yes. 122. By the time I saw your post you had already went to 122. (And everything is working great)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.7, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 4TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Pro Tools Ult 2022.12, RME BBF ProMac Mini 14,12 - 12 core - macOS 13.2RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 core
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-19-2023, 01:01 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,073
Default Re: StreamDeck integration with DADman

I have a Prism Titan with the PTHDX module and also a StreamDeck+. Would this app be useful for things like adjusting the Titan's mic pre levels (which ProTools views as pres from an MTRX, and enabled in the micpre tab in ProTools)?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-19-2023, 01:35 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,349
Default Re: StreamDeck integration with DADman

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
I have a Prism Titan with the PTHDX module and also a StreamDeck+. Would this app be useful for things like adjusting the Titan's mic pre levels (which ProTools views as pres from an MTRX, and enabled in the micpre tab in ProTools)?
This module for StreamDeck talks to DADman (via DADman's native communication format verses using Eucontrol.) The Prism Titan doesn't speak that protocol.

The Titan <> Pro Tools communication for the mic pres is the same as the Avid Pre <> Pro Tools and MTRX mic pres <> Pro Tools which is via MIDI messages. StreamDeck does have a MIDI module (look in the plugin store under Dial actions and you'll find one called MIDI) which you could set up to send the same commands as Pro Tools to the Titan. I remember it was easy to reverse engineer what the commands were (just send Pro Tools to another MIDI device intercepting the MIDI messages sent to the Titan and see what messages are gain, phantom, etc.) Or, Avid might have even published those messages somewhere (Avid Pre manual?)
I don't believe it used Sysex messaging (IIRC it used both the coarse and fine MIDI CC messages for more resolution and the StreamDeck MIDI module can do up to 4 CC for one dial.) Haven't done this is a long time but remember setting up a MIDI mixer to do this a long time ago with the Grace Design 8 channel pre that also used the Avid mic pre MIDI message control.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.7, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 4TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Pro Tools Ult 2022.12, RME BBF ProMac Mini 14,12 - 12 core - macOS 13.2RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 core
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-19-2023, 04:25 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,073
Default Re: StreamDeck integration with DADman

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
This module for StreamDeck talks to DADman (via DADman's native communication format verses using Eucontrol.) The Prism Titan doesn't speak that protocol.
I see. I didn't realize DADman was its own protocol. Yes, the Prism has no trouble responding to MIDI CCs, but I thought there might be an advantage to this module. Back to MIDI I go...
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-19-2023, 10:30 PM
cabbagerock cabbagerock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 24
Default Re: StreamDeck integration with DADman

Hi, I am new to stream deck. What is everyone's favorite rotary controller for monitor level? Any other hardware suggestions? Thanks!

Gideon
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-19-2023, 10:40 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,190
Default Re: StreamDeck integration with DADman

Quote:
Originally Posted by cabbagerock View Post
Hi, I am new to stream deck. What is everyone's favorite rotary controller for monitor level? Any other hardware suggestions? Thanks!
I'm using the SD+ and the Surface Dial. The Surface Dial is nice, but it takes a little while to wake up, so the SD+ is more responsive (but it doesn't have as many buttons).

It should also work with the nOb control but I haven't had a chance to test that myself.

I want to add support for the Teenage Engineering ortho remote but I haven't had time, unfortunately it appears as a MIDI rather than a USB rotary encoder device so it will require some refactoring.
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-19-2023, 10:40 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,190
Default Re: StreamDeck integration with DADman

To be honest, probably the best knob is a real MOM, using the StreamDeck for labeled buttons and/or more buttons.
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-20-2023, 10:36 AM
cabbagerock cabbagerock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 24
Default Re: StreamDeck integration with DADman

Ok good info, thanks Luke!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DADman question... JR Fountain Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 9 05-07-2021 04:58 PM
DADMan outputs Goombot Pro Tools 7 04-22-2021 08:27 PM
DADMan 2.1 routing out of Mac Goombot Pro Tools 2020 3 10-21-2020 08:08 AM
DADman disconnects pkingduk Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 12 07-26-2020 04:22 AM
DADMan goes wonky Jared_TL Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 12-29-2019 01:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com