Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2021, 03:35 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,062
Default Recording vocals?

I’ve been messing in the studio the past couple of days with vocal tracking techniques and EQ’ing them and just wondered how and what some of you guys do.

My chain today was WA87=>WA273EQ=>Klark Teknic La2a=>WA76 and then into ProTools

On the 73EQ I pressed the tone button in, it just seemed to add something. Compression wise on the LA2A was about 7db GR and then about 1db on the 76.

I know all vocals are different and things will never be done the same every time . I was just singing to a Bon Jovi backing track and experimenting.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 5.1 12 Core 3.46hz Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2021, 04:27 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,295
Default Re: Recording vocals?

Hey, Raoul!

Nice recording chain!

On the WA273EQ for vocals, make sure you're utilizing the HPF. Also, some vocals might need more brightness or less brightness so the high shelf is key too. I have no experience with the unit, so not sure about the tone button.

One thing you might want to experiment with is reversing the roles of the 1176 and LA2A. Try putting the 1176 before the LA2A and using the 1176 for your 7db (or more!) of aggressive GR and using the LA2A last in the chain for 1-2dB of gentle GR. I think they shine best when paired this way for rock, but, as always, just go with what sounds best to you!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2021, 07:35 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,723
Default Re: Recording vocals?

Good advice from Alex, and here's more opinion; if engaging the EQ(with no boost or cut) adds "something", I'd probably keep it(if it sounds good, it IS good). And I might do a small boost or cut, but nothing more than 1-2db(in case I need to undo it later). But, when it comes to compressors, I'd probably stick with just the WA2A(for the character). My "go to" vocal chain was Miktek CV4>API 312>WA2A and it always gave great results(I would expect no less with any 1073 clone). My thinking is simply to avoid too much compression on the way in. You can always add more at mix(and I did with BF76>SMACK! on every lead vocal), but its really tough to take away "baked in" compression. Adding a tough of "air" with a Pultec or MAAG eq takes it up a notch. I use the Bomb Factory Pultec while tracking due to its zero latency, but often swap to the Waves Puigtech for mix. If you're wondering why the swap, the Bomb Factory Pultec is a little "gritty"(which sometimes is desirable) while the Puigtech is just plain silky.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2021, 10:27 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,431
Default Re: Recording vocals?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
Hey, Raoul!

Nice recording chain!

On the WA273EQ for vocals, make sure you're utilizing the HPF. Also, some vocals might need more brightness or less brightness so the high shelf is key too. I have no experience with the unit, so not sure about the tone button.

One thing you might want to experiment with is reversing the roles of the 1176 and LA2A. Try putting the 1176 before the LA2A and using the 1176 for your 7db (or more!) of aggressive GR and using the LA2A last in the chain for 1-2dB of gentle GR. I think they shine best when paired this way for rock, but, as always, just go with what sounds best to you!

You know we are talking about a ”KT badly done clone of a LA2A” right?

So maybe even better just throwing out that LT and use the other ”klones”
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2021, 11:05 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,305
Default Re: Recording vocals?

^ what he said. You would be amazed how insane amount of external gear this guy has
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2021, 11:50 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,062
Default Re: Recording vocals?

I can’t afford a real La2a at the moment so I guess the KlarkTec will have to do


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 5.1 12 Core 3.46hz Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-24-2021, 12:02 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,305
Default Re: Recording vocals?

Sure. I am sure you undestand that great mic plus great preamp plus zero external processing straight into great AD converter is better than mediocre mic plus mediocre preamp plus mediocre external processing going into mediocre AD converter
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-24-2021, 12:14 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,723
Default Re: Recording vocals?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Sure. I am sure you undestand that great mic plus great preamp plus zero external processing straight into great AD converter is better than mediocre mic plus mediocre preamp plus mediocre external processing going into mediocre AD converter
Hmm, its tough to argue with this^^^, but I will add that the Warm Audio 2A is a solid performer(yes, I did miss the fact of the KT). If in doubt, track both paths(make a quick group) and keep 1 muted(like if you were tracking an electric guitar via amp PLUS a DI feed I often track 2 complete vocal paths this way so I can choose the best after tracking is done
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-24-2021, 12:16 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,062
Default Re: Recording vocals?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Sure. I am sure you undestand that great mic plus great preamp plus zero external processing straight into great AD converter is better than mediocre mic plus mediocre preamp plus mediocre external processing going into mediocre AD converter

Yes but sometimes ya gotta use what you can afford!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 5.1 12 Core 3.46hz Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-24-2021, 01:08 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,431
Thumbs down Re: Recording vocals?

What we mean is it will sound BETTER without that klark Teknik unit as it doesn’t work anyway close to any better clone ”which is wrong wording” as a clone is 1:1 of something and all the less good emulations or inspired by doesn’t come close on any level so the way the cheap units process the audio and make it worse than without them sometimes.

Definitely not trying to be an a-hole here Brother, just wanna help you get better sound and the less you need to do to audio in the end is the best, if you commit and use the best gear you got available the easier it will be to make great recordings.

Use the WA gear and use a GOOD plugin 2A emulation as anything is better than those KT joke Rip-Offs.

Try the chain with the decent WA-273 and WA76 and toss the KT and see how your sound will improve if you record it correctly.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording Vocals DS82 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-23-2010 10:39 AM
recording vocals with 002 bigboi78 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-28-2007 12:38 PM
RECORDING VOCALS soulivar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-06-2004 09:38 PM
Recording vocals on the fly Record-n-Play 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-03-2003 10:31 AM
Recording Vocals Jose A Lugo Tips & Tricks 7 08-08-2002 12:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com