Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2005, 01:15 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default iSight - iChat AV w/ Digi core audio - problem

Is anyone using an iSight w/ iChat AV? It works fine (amazing technology, actually) - HOWEVER - I can't get the audio from iChat to feed Digi core audio.

If protools is running, no issues, as I have a line out from the computer into a protools input pair.

HOWEVER (gasp) there are times when PT is not running, and I'm using apple's suite of iLife apps - and I want to hear audio from the mac via Digi core audio -- this works great (Jam, Toast, Safari, Soundtrack Pro, etc...) -- Digi core audio starts up and no issues.

UNTIL - I launch iChat AV w/ an iSight camera. In iChat AV, there is a preferene to select sound output as either "line out" or "Digidesign HW (HD)" -- unfortunately, it will not let me select "Digidesign HW (HD)" - if I select it, it pops back to "line out".

Anyone else trying use iSight/iChat AV? Besides only using line out, is there a trick to make the Digi core audio driver work with iChat?

I found a thread on the LE forum, but the solution didn't appy to HD.

This only happens from this one application - all other core audio apps seem to be working and the driver seems to working correctly.

Any thoughts? Digi?

PS -- I have QT pro authorized. I was using QT 7.0 - then 7.0.1, now 7.0.3 -- no difference in how this beahves.

Thanks.
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2005, 06:58 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: iSight - iChat AV w/ Digi core audio - problem

I tried re-installing coreaudio w/ PT 6.9.3cs2 installer (CoreAudio.plugin version 6.9.3cs1) - and iChat AV 3.0.1 (v392) will not let me select "Digidesign HW (HD)" in sound output.

Anyone?

Thanks,

jr
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2005, 11:51 AM
Great Divide Studios Great Divide Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Aspen
Posts: 132
Default Re: iSight - iChat AV w/ Digi core audio - problem

Hi Jeremy,

This is an old bug that has been reported to Digi. Isight seems to be the only snag with core audio right now.
Hopefully we'll have a fix one day soon. The workaround is to plug your Mac audio outputs into PT.

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Rosenberg
Aspen, Colorado
www.greatdividestudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2005, 12:02 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: iSight - iChat AV w/ Digi core audio - problem

Quote:
The workaround is to plug your Mac audio outputs into PT
Hi Jamie,

Thanks! That's what I've been doing... bummer. I submitted a "bug report" to Digi -- hopefully there will be compatibility in the future. I've been using iSight for all kinds of meetings - and actually avoided a trip to LA when I was able to do a 3-way conference. It's so much more productive than the telephone. Now that Apple has a camera/mic built into the new iMacs, maybe this will be the excuse for more people to use it, and Digi will have a critical mass of users requesting this be fixed... hope so...
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Does Digi Core Block iChat M2E Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-25-2009 05:03 PM
coreaudio iChat iSight Eric R. Fischer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-12-2005 08:47 AM
Digi Core Audio and iChat AV? SWW 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-25-2004 09:47 AM
iChat >>Core Audio 6.1>>digi001. Any Luck so far? EjA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-22-2003 05:45 PM
Core Audio Driver v1.2 & iChat AV Conflict Lucas Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-17-2003 10:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com