Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2021, 02:53 AM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 420
Default 2021.3 constant hangs

Is anyone else getting constant PT hangs when doing simple edits? I wasn't seeing this on 2020.12, but now when I do something simple ~ e.g. zoom in on a waveform and try to drag the crossfade over, Pro Tools hangs completely, requiring a force quit.


Happened five times in a row, within one minute of opening the session. Restarted the computer, no other apps running (not even Time Machine or Google Drive Sync etc). No time to troubleshoot, so I'm gonna go back to 2020.12 and see if it works better.
__________________
* Mojave Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme
* PT 2020.12 / Ableton Suite 10 / Spitfire Labs <3
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter
* Steinberg ur-c / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies

Last edited by huzzam; 03-26-2021 at 07:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2021, 07:02 AM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 420
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

FYI I rolled back to 2020.12 and the problem has disappeared. No one else is noticing this issue?
__________________
* Mojave Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme
* PT 2020.12 / Ableton Suite 10 / Spitfire Labs <3
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter
* Steinberg ur-c / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2021, 07:26 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,484
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

Nope runs great here PTU 2021.3. No hangs or issues and we run 200+ track songs with many VI and automation althoguh barely no plugins as we use hardware. We do have melodyne 5 and some guitar cabs from UHE and a few soothe2 tracks and thats about it. VI tracks are many (30-40) and some bounced in place but still atleast 30-40 VI tracks with synths and guitar stuff.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2021, 07:44 AM
grayter1 grayter1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 359
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

Running super solid here. Specs in sig. Current session has several heavy VI's - Omnisphere, Keyscape and Pigments. All running fine at a buffer size of 128. I could be running at 64, but I don't see the need atm.

No issues here.

tg
__________________
Win 10 Pro / i9-10850K 3.6GHz / 64 GB / nVIDIA GTX 1050ti / RME BabyFace Pro FS / SSL UF8 + UC1 / Yamaha MODX6 / Komplete S49 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.6 / Nuendo 11 / Reaper 6 / Komplete 13 / Omnisphere / Keyscape / Trilian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-28-2021, 11:58 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,466
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
a few soothe2 tracks
Made in Finland, great plug
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2021, 05:53 AM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 269
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

Becharax this is an issue I've been dealing with since switching to my Apollo X8 a year and a half ago. Arming tracks will cause system hangs at 64 samples and below.

Last edited by JingleDjango; 03-29-2021 at 06:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-29-2021, 06:03 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,466
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

Self made problems guys. I very seldom have a reason to go below 128 buffer (@48k) which is/was the default playback buffer on HD systems. It is also typical latency of digital mixing boards used on stage. If that latency would be a problem, there would not be any live gigs mixed or monitored on digital consoles.

I even have great success using 256 buffer if needed. I have tested these latencies extensively for two decades already. 512 will be unusable for anyone, 256 is usable for most.

Though with modern systems it beats me why end user could just not have a slider of how many samples is needed. I would probably set it to 350 which is a real world DSP latency of typical full TDM mix, only TDM plugins included. And those ancient TDM systems were praised "fast".
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-26-2021, 07:42 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 315
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

Quote:
Originally Posted by huzzam View Post
Is anyone else getting constant PT hangs when doing simple edits? I wasn't seeing this on 2020.12, but now when I do something simple ~ e.g. zoom in on a waveform and try to drag the crossfade over, Pro Tools hangs completely, requiring a force quit.


Happened five times in a row, within one minute of opening the session. Restarted the computer, no other apps running (not even Time Machine or Google Drive Sync etc). No time to troubleshoot, so I'm gonna go back to 2020.12 and see if it works better.
No issues so far here. What GPU do you have in your Hackintosh? I wonder if some graphics acceleration is having issues.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Open Core 0.7.0 EFI, Radeon RX580 GPU, M.2 NVMe SSD boot drive on PCIe card, 48GB RAM, MacOS 10.15.7.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.6.0 HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-26-2021, 09:18 AM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 420
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
No issues so far here. What GPU do you have in your Hackintosh? I wonder if some graphics acceleration is having issues.

No discrete GPU, just the integrated graphics of the i9, uhd630. But anyway, it's a permanent hang, requiring a force quit. Usually graphics issues seem to last just a few seconds.

Interesting that it's just me, though. When I get through this bit of work I'll try again and do more troubleshooting. Luckily 2020.12 is rock solid for me... and I'm way back on Mojave (thanks to two 32-bit apps I continue to need), so no hurry to upgrade.
__________________
* Mojave Hackintosh : core i9-9900k / 16gb / 3tb nvme
* PT 2020.12 / Ableton Suite 10 / Spitfire Labs <3
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter
* Steinberg ur-c / Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-26-2021, 12:49 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,143
Default Re: 2021.3 constant hangs

Perhaps try moving plugins to unused folder and try again. If things run smoothly, start moving the plugins in back one at a time and test to see if a particular plugin is causing the problem. It is a tedious process, but so often plugins are the cause of issues.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.5.1 running Protools 2021.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any benefit to TDM in 2021? akopp Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 05-19-2021 09:26 AM
PT 2021... Catalina? Or Big Sur? Eric Lambert Pro Tools 2021 3 03-26-2021 12:41 PM
Come on! 2021 already. Just issue what’s right. DetroitT Pro Tools 2020 0 03-05-2021 05:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com