Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2002, 09:16 AM
blairl blairl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Posts: 1,084
Default 192 I/O detailed questions?

Greetings!

The brochure says that the 192 I/O can handle up to 50 inputs. Elsewhere it says that it will handle up to 16 simultaneous inputs. What about with an additional A/D card? Will this handle up to 32 simultaneous inputs. On the back panel what are the pots for 1A, 1B etc... Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2002, 09:26 AM
Kevin Mooney Kevin Mooney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 53
Default Re: 192 I/O detailed questions?

From what I've seen the 192 can handle 16 inputs and outputs on the box at the same time, which can be any combination of Analog or Digital I/O. If you install an extra AD board you can run 16 analog inputs at the same time. You can't use any of the digital inputs at that time.

The trims are used to set to operating level for the +4db and -10 dB inputs or 2 different operating levels for the +4 inputs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2002, 10:13 AM
Shawn B Shawn B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Boston
Posts: 226
Default Re: 192 I/O detailed questions?

Kevin is correct..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2002, 10:36 AM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: 192 I/O detailed questions?

1 x 192 interface would get a rock band into PT fine for me..

I would use 96k I think...

At mixdown / overdubbing I would hop to usage of..

8 analog i/o (headphone Auxes / RMX 16 reverb & Mix monitor)
+ 8ch digi i/o to hang off
Digial outboard gear

So I need

192
+ 8 A/D card
+ 8 AES i/o card

Now, what to do with 2 x AD8000SE's and that second Mix + rig????????

[img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img]

Is the 192 interface "192k ready?" dont mean to seem dumb but... some classical music chums might be interested.. will the software have SRC to make 44.1k 16bit masters?

Will the classical guys be satisfied with the sound?? Once 192 is SRC'ed to 16 bit?

[img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img]
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2002, 11:05 AM
Greg Malcangi Greg Malcangi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: UK
Posts: 491
Default Re: 192 I/O detailed questions?

Hi Jules,

<< So I need: 192 + 8 A/D card + 8 AES i/o card. >>

Nope, as I understand it you will just need a stock 192 without the cards to acheive 8 analog i/o + 8 digital i/o simulteneously.

Greg
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-17-2002, 11:12 AM
JaredVogt JaredVogt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Posts: 70
Default Re: 192 I/O detailed questions?

Also, I have been told that you can have a max of 24 channels analog I/O. So, 16 in and 8 out - or 8 in and 16 out - but no way to get 16 in and 16 out on a single 192 interface.

Thanks,
Jared
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-17-2002, 11:22 AM
Rythym Stick Rythym Stick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London
Posts: 152
Default Re: 192 I/O detailed questions?

Jared
Are you sure about being able to have 24 simutaneous inputs?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-17-2002, 11:28 AM
Rythym Stick Rythym Stick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London
Posts: 152
Default Re: 192 I/O detailed questions?

Actually better still can someone from digi just aswer this question.

With an analog input expansion card in the 192 will we be able to have 16 analog inputs and 8 adat inputs all running at once or is the limit still just 16 inputs????
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-17-2002, 12:26 PM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: 192 I/O detailed questions?

To track my RAWK bands I juss need 16 in and 2 out for monitor + say 6 more (max) for headphone Auxes...

16 in 8 out is OK wid me..

[img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

However my sympathy for those that need more..! (if that is indeed the case)
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-17-2002, 12:33 PM
Shawn B Shawn B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Boston
Posts: 226
Default Re: 192 I/O detailed questions?

Only 16 I/O is possible. Plus only one card can be added.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detailed system requirements thruhiker Windows 1 07-19-2012 07:42 PM
Has anybody EVER saved a detailed report!? Lou Teti Pro Tools 9 9 08-24-2011 08:30 PM
remove detailed report? ameristos macOS 0 03-23-2011 02:32 AM
detailed info on PT 8? right beside 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 06-22-2009 04:43 PM
Detailed Mixing Techniques Tl13565 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-09-2006 05:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com