Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2020, 04:09 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,676
Default Could a Graphics Card cause plugins to crash opening the GUI's

Hi,


I recently put a new graphics card in my MacPro Mountain Lion Pro Tools 10, GeFofce GTX 780. all seemed well at first but now i'm building a large mix im getting issues with opening GUI's on some plugins, it takes a while for the GUI's to open and often just causes a crash. Mostly with UAD plugins but some others as well.


From what i can find the GTX780 doesn't have the drivers in Mountain Lion. the last was the GTX 680 to be fully compatible.


Everything else works fine with the 780 and running 4 monitors with no problems, its just some plugins are having this GUI opening issue. the crash logs do mention graphics and quartzcore.


Uninstalled reinstalled and trashed all prefs for PT and UAD


Never seen much about GPU's causing problems? but i guess its possible!






Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-15-2020, 09:44 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,986
Default Re: Could a Graphics Card cause plugins to crash opening the GUI's

If it uses 680 drivers there may be a problem
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2020, 01:35 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,412
Default Re: Could a Graphics Card cause plugins to crash opening the GUI's

Web drivers
Just checking on versions
http://www.macvidcards.com/drivers.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDN/iMac graphics weirdness and crash Bookerv12 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 02-06-2018 10:35 AM
EMI Noise: Graphics card to HD Native card jacknprewitt Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 10-19-2013 09:02 PM
HD Native Card Possibly Fried My Graphics Card witrelo Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 09-14-2011 11:46 AM
little graphics oddness when opening UAD plugs crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-24-2009 08:44 PM
digi init crash-move graphics card? DigiTechSupt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-24-2000 12:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com