Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-11-2011, 10:12 AM

Default The state of bounce

So the other day I did took a raw session a buddy of mine did and I mixed it and mastered it for him. He didn't give me any input beforehand so obviously when I was done he had some concerns with it.

Yesterday I gave it another crack with his input. I decided I needed the practice since Im still a new Pro tools user. I did 6 different mixes for the song. All was well Pro tools performed great up until this point.

When I had to bounce all the tacks down to .wav to send to him, I almost lost my f'ing mind. The bounce feature is Pro tools sucks. To get my mixes into .wav format took an hour! I told by buddy at 10 i was gonna bounce and send em. By the time everything was done and sent I went to bed at 12:30!!

This is crazy, I remember back when I had Reaper and it was Free, I could bounce a track in about 20 seconds. I didnt have to listen to that song for the duration of the song whether bounce needed the time to complete or not.

Is there somewhere I can send Avid a feature request, borderline bug fix request! There is no way it should take this long, especially when a free (at the time) program like reaper is massively out performing my $600 Pro tools investment in such an often used area.
Im shocked...
Old 05-11-2011, 10:17 AM

Default Re: The state of bounce

Do to the TDM underpinnings of Pro Tools offline bounce is impossible.

Get over it or move on.

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

Thank you,

Craig
Old 05-11-2011, 10:30 AM

Oh geez Craig thanks for your excellent contribution, I forgot making music was all about bucking up and being a forum tough guy...