Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-2003, 08:45 AM
Dan Downs Dan Downs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Decatur Al
Posts: 119
Default transferring sessions from PC to MAC ?

I am sending a fire wire drive to a friend in another part of the country. He will be sending back several sessions witch were made using Pt le 6.1 on a PC. I will be importing the sessions on PT TDM 6.1on MAC. The drive I sent is formatted as HFS+.
I don’t think when he created the sessions with enforced PC/MAC compatibility. Will the PC see the drive? Have any of you done this before? I have no experience with PC using Protools.
__________________
Dan Downs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2003, 10:44 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: transferring sessions from PC to MAC ?

Your friend will need to use MacDrive5 from MediaFour to be able to access your HFS Formatted drive. He will also have to save a copy of the session using Save Session Copy In... and set the Mac/PC compatibility checkbox.

If the compatibility is set and he has MacDrive5, he'll be able to copy the session to the drive without issues. On your Mac you'll have to open the session using the Command+O (File->Open) command inside Pro Tools.

I do this all the time without any issues.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2003, 01:21 PM
Datus Datus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 306
Default Re: transferring sessions from PC to MAC ?

i just transferred sessions from a ptle 6.1 PC to a 5.3.1 tdm mac system, I always made sure my compatibility boxes were checked, and I used a fat32 formatted drive, and had no issues.

Do what rail says and you should be fine...
__________________
Stephen Tyler
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2003, 03:22 PM
derF derF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 309
Default Re: transferring sessions from PC to MAC ?

Mac's have no problem reading PC formatted (FAT32) Firewire drives. I don't think you can work off of one, but certainly read and transfer the data off one to a mac drive.

As for compability make sure those Mac/PC boxes are ticked, even doing a Save Session Copy In as suggested above.

As a side note, I regularly receive PC files (OMFs off AVID suites) on DVD-R and Jaz Disk. No problems so far!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transferring sessions gteam Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-05-2008 10:50 PM
transferring sessions between pc and mac philywily Tips & Tricks 2 02-26-2006 05:58 PM
Transferring Sessions rock15478 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 09-07-2005 09:14 AM
Transferring Sessions KRUSH GROOVE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-19-2005 12:08 AM
transferring sessions q... JEdmunds 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-04-2003 03:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com