Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2002, 09:03 AM
coleslaw coleslaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: vancouver
Posts: 39
Default CORD PROBLEMS?

i have a turntable mixer going into my digi 001...the problem is that the signal from the mixer (when i am playing records, etc.) is very low...the mixer has rca outputs, and the digibox requires 1/4 inch inputs - so i have rca cables with 1/4 inch adapters (mono)...will getting 1/4 inch stereo cables correct this low signal problem (make it louder>?)

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2002, 09:37 AM
Nine Spine Nine Spine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 468
Default Re: CORD PROBLEMS?

You can increase the gain for the 1/4" inputs under "Setups>Hardware>options". I think that's where it is, I'm not near my gear right now, but if you're running unbalanced -10 inputs this should help you a little or you can run them into the preamp inputs on the front of the interface and boost them there a little.
__________________
I.B.S. Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2002, 09:37 AM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,680
Default Re: CORD PROBLEMS?

you will need a stereo reciever

sdf
__________________
sdf

www.sugarhillstudios713.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2002, 10:46 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: CORD PROBLEMS?

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by s.d. finley:
you will need a stereo reciever<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

...or at least something equipped with a phono preamp. You can also purchase a stand-alone preamp. The Radio Shack quality preamps cost about $12. Rane makes a good one called the PS1.

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2002, 11:33 AM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: CORD PROBLEMS?

You need a Phono Preamp, or a good DJ mixer. It accomplishes two things. One is gain, most likely to -10db unbalanced, but there are some high end ones that will go to +4db balanced.
More importantly, the preamp is designed specificially for records, with an established RIAA eq curve that all records are mastered according to these standards.
Most music instrument dealers now deal in DJ gear as well. DJ mixers are cheap, basic models around $100. If you plan on doing much of this it's a good investment. (FYI get one with balanced +4 outputs) Gemeni and Numark are the leaders.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixed up my digi-002 cord? digifriend Pro Tools 9 5 10-01-2011 10:44 PM
002r power cord? scottedog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 09-21-2004 09:34 PM
LONGER DIGI 001 CORD!!! romancindastone General Discussion 2 04-23-2004 12:15 AM
Digi 002 Power Cord MHProductions 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-18-2003 11:46 AM
CORD PROBLEMS! coleslaw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 12-13-2001 04:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com