Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2012, 01:16 PM
DRPII DRPII is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default Server Error 403 - Forbidden: Access is Denied

In Pro Tools 10.2, I select the "Help" menu and then select "Pro Tools Help" from the drop down list. A new window opens with the message " Server Error 403 - Forbidden: Access is denied".

My copy of Pro Tools 10.2 is registered with Avid. And the iLok is attached and active, otherwise I could not have started Pro Tools and had the "Help" menu available.

I have a screen shot of this error. But I do not see a way to attach it to this post.

Anyone else have this error, or a solution?

Thanks,

DRPII
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2012, 10:45 AM
StuManx StuManx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Douglas, Isle of Man
Posts: 5
Default Re: Server Error 403 - Forbidden: Access is Denied

Did you get anywhere solving this - I have exactly the same problem. I think it's probably happened when updating from the base retail PT10 via 10.1 to 10.2. and it's IMMENSELY frustrating to me as a newbie user.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 945
8Gb RAM
2 x AMD 6450 running 4 monitors (one mirrored)
W7 64-bit, PT10.2
Mackie MCUPro
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6
Line 6 Pod UX1
Tannoy Monitor Golds
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2012, 11:16 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,357
Default Re: Server Error 403 - Forbidden: Access is Denied

Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2012, 06:27 PM
DRPII DRPII is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default Re: Server Error 403 - Forbidden: Access is Denied

Stu,

As yet I have not received a reply that addresses the "HELP" issue.

There was another "reply" on this thread from albee1952 that I could not find any relivance to the issue.

I guess that we need to be patient and wait for a relivant reply.

DRPII
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2012, 07:57 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,759
Default Re: Server Error 403 - Forbidden: Access is Denied

relivant???? (It's relevant) relevance, read the thread linked to you and do exactly what' it says in it. Then those with knowledge on this forum can help you as they will have the information (system info, steps you've taken to troubleshoot the problem etc etc etc) they need to try and help you.
__________________
Manny.

Wave-T.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2012, 09:04 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,357
Default Re: Server Error 403 - Forbidden: Access is Denied

You need to try a little harder here. Without a Sandra report, nobody can offer much in the way of help.
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-18-2012, 04:18 AM
arhall arhall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 91
Default Re: Server Error 403 - Forbidden: Access is Denied

The inbuilt link adress is 'http://apps.avid.com/proToolsHelp/version10.2/enu/'
Just test it from your browser.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HTTP_403

Sometimes it's maybe better to help instead of scare newcommrs awai. Oh sorry, [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep] did I spell it wrong??

__________________
Intel i7 2600K, z68 with iGPU, 8Gb, Win7 64, PT11.
TC Impact Twin.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-18-2012, 09:40 AM
StuManx StuManx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Douglas, Isle of Man
Posts: 5
Default Re: Server Error 403 - Forbidden: Access is Denied

Wow - the guy simply asked a question!

FWIW I wondered if the upgrade path had somehow forgotten that I was a registered owner, so I re-registered online with Avid (inc my iLok account name), and miracles took place in the ether and my Help access has been reinstated. Odd, as one of the first things I did when I installed PT10 from the DVD's was register it. Anyhoo, works for me...good luck!
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 945
8Gb RAM
2 x AMD 6450 running 4 monitors (one mirrored)
W7 64-bit, PT10.2
Mackie MCUPro
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6
Line 6 Pod UX1
Tannoy Monitor Golds
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-18-2012, 11:51 AM
DRPII DRPII is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default Re: Server Error 403 - Forbidden: Access is Denied

Stu,

arhall posted a link to the "Pro Tools 10 Help file" that I used and it opened the help for Pro Tools 10. I then started Pro Tools 10, and used the "Pro Tools Help" under the "Help" menu. And the help file opened in Pro Tools 10.

I re-checked the links supplied by albee1952. But I still do not see any revalance. One link is to a "myspace" page, and the other appears to be for a studio in Nashville.

I hope that arhall's solution works for others who have problems accessing "Pro Tools Help" from within Pro Tools 10.

DRPII
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-18-2012, 12:23 PM
arhall arhall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 91
Default Re: Server Error 403 - Forbidden: Access is Denied

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRPII View Post
Stu,

arhall posted a link to the "Pro Tools 10 Help file" that I used and it opened the help for Pro Tools 10. I then started Pro Tools 10, and used the "Pro Tools Help" under the "Help" menu. And the help file opened in Pro Tools 10.

I re-checked the links supplied by albee1952. But I still do not see any revalance. One link is to a "myspace" page, and the other appears to be for a studio in Nashville.

I hope that arhall's solution works for others who have problems accessing "Pro Tools Help" from within Pro Tools 10.

DRPII
So the link worked for you? That's strange because it did'nt work for me. My reply was'nt actually a solution in any way. I just wanted to make a statement about the very welcoming dinosaurs here. But I'm happy that if it solved your problem.
__________________
Intel i7 2600K, z68 with iGPU, 8Gb, Win7 64, PT11.
TC Impact Twin.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error install Instrument Pack: Access denied (0x5) dmichael Windows 5 06-28-2011 02:55 PM
Access Denied Error while loading LE Factory v.2 Kenneth Andrews 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-03-2006 09:55 AM
Error creating file 1008:5,-5000 access denied jbraly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-30-2006 07:57 AM
Access Denied Error Message Anyone? voxpitch 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-19-2002 12:53 AM
access violation/access is denied dj_czech 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-02-2001 12:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com