Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2011, 05:06 AM
SD2 SD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 213
Default Getting regular "missing Ilok" message after upgrading to V9

Hello all,

I've just upgraded PT HD from 8.1 to 9.0.1 and am now getting, every hour or so, a message saying "Error, missing Ilok authorization for PTHD9. After dismissing this dialog, PT will allow you to save your session and then quit".
I save the session, PT quits and, when I relaunch the app', everything goes back to normal for a while (until the next error shows up...).

I'm using the exact same Ilok2 (provided with a recent 8.1 upgrade and a HD3 Pci to PCIe crossgrade) that I was using with version 8.1 and it used to work just fine.
Anybody else experiencing this very annoying and time consuming bug?...

I've contacted AVID's support and am waiting for an answer but, meanwhile, as I've just read that, in many cases, AVID says the Full installer should be used instead of the simple upgrade, I'm downloading it right now.

Question is why is AVID providing an upgrade if they know it doesn't work in most cases?...
And another question is: does anybody knows if I have to desinstall PT9 before re-running the full installer?

Thanks for any advice/experience/help.
Mat
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2011, 05:14 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Getting regular "missing Ilok" message after upgrading to V9

Quote:
Originally Posted by SD2 View Post
Hello all,

I've just upgraded PT HD from 8.1 to 9.0.1 and am now getting, every hour or so, a message saying "Error, missing Ilok authorization for PTHD9. After dismissing this dialog, PT will allow you to save your session and then quit".
I save the session, PT quits and, when I relaunch the app', everything goes back to normal for a while (until the next error shows up...).

I'm using the exact same Ilok2 (provided with a recent 8.1 upgrade and a HD3 Pci to PCIe crossgrade) that I was using with version 8.1 and it used to work just fine.
Anybody else experiencing this very annoying and time consuming bug?...

I've contacted AVID's support and am waiting for an answer but, meanwhile, as I've just read that, in many cases, AVID says the Full installer should be used instead of the simple upgrade, I'm downloading it right now.

Question is why is AVID providing an upgrade if they know it doesn't work in most cases?...
And another question is: does anybody knows if I have to desinstall PT9 before re-running the full installer?

Thanks for any advice/experience/help.
Mat

Since your having a problem I would un install rather than overwriting the existing install. I'm assuming you did the normal routine of repairing disk permissions and possibly trashing prefs? You might try downloading the latest PACE drivers from iLok.com but my understanding is that the PT9 installer has the latest driver.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2011, 07:01 AM
SD2 SD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 213
Default Re: Getting regular "missing Ilok" message after upgrading to V9

Thanks.
I have no problem re-installing from scratch except for the plugins. I'm not gonna spend hours reinstalling them one by one. But I think there's an option that keeps them in place (along with some other extensions).
Anyway, I had a first reply from AVID and am now waiting for another.
To be continued...

PS: and yes, I did the usual repair authorization. As far as trashing prefs, I don't really do that anymore, IMHO it's a thing from the past and it won't help in most cases (including that one).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2011, 07:37 AM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Getting regular "missing Ilok" message after upgrading to V9

I assume the upgrade process you did included the part of putting in your hd serial and ilok account info... then as you hopefully know a ilok asset for pro tools 9 will be deposited into your ilok account that you then have to put on an ilok.

if of course you already did the step to add the pt9 ilok from your ilok account to your actual ilok. . then I have no idea whats wrong.
__________________
Jay-J

System
MacPro 12 Core • 24 G Ram • 10.12.6
PT 12.8.1 • Mbox 3 Pro • Plug-ins Verified
4 HD • OS ssd | Audio ssd | Sample Library ssd | Storage
MAXPower eSATA 6G Card • Wiebetech RTX100H-Q
Kensington Trackball Works/Orbit Optical
Bluetooth off/Airport on and off.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-26-2011, 08:48 AM
SD2 SD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 213
Default Re: Getting regular "missing Ilok" message after upgrading to V9

I'm not sure what you mean...
But if you're asking me whether I've downloaded the pending licence on my Ilok, then yes I have...
Otherwise, PT wouldn't even launch you know?...
Thanks anyway.
__________________
Pro Website

Administrator of Brotools, free online tutorials for the french Pro Tools user.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-26-2011, 12:46 PM
SD2 SD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 213
Default Re: Getting regular "missing Ilok" message after upgrading to V9

BTW, when I said "desinstall", I meant "uninstall"....
Sorry for the bad english...
__________________
Pro Website

Administrator of Brotools, free online tutorials for the french Pro Tools user.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I get rid of "Missing Files" message when PT loads? jasonguitar Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 11 06-13-2021 09:11 PM
"Error, missing ILok authorization for "Pro Tools 10". johkav macOS 4 09-10-2012 08:13 AM
Random Error, missing iLok authorization for "Pro Tools 9" ktuulu Windows 52 04-05-2012 09:53 PM
Pro Tools sudden "missing iLok" message when connected external USB devices. mgoorevich macOS 5 01-04-2012 02:13 PM
Help! Error, missing iLok authorization for "Pro Tools 9" digitalwhispers Pro Tools 9 6 10-13-2011 03:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com