Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2023, 04:46 PM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,474
Default Fader in D-Command goes only up to -77.6dB in Pro Tools when pushed all the way up

Hey all,

Has anyone witnessed this before?

https://www.icloud.com/photos/#02cZF...c14iXB7AUVokaA

The fader is brand new - as I replaced it thinking the one there was faulty. In the tests the fader responds to touch values as anticipated. But for cycle, group, recal, etc. it's not moving at all.

Any ideas would be hugely appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2023, 05:35 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,220
Default Re: Fader in D-Command goes only up to -77.6dB in Pro Tools when pushed all the way u

grab yourself the D-Command Manual if you don't have it.
Find Utility Mode and then the Fader section on recalibration.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2023, 03:39 PM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: Fader in D-Command goes only up to -77.6dB in Pro Tools when pushed all the way u

Hey BScout.

It was my first port of call unless I am doing this incorrectly. Just in case I am goofing up somewhere:

You mean to press the RECAL in Utility->Test-> Fader-> Recal?

If so, that’s exactly what I did.

I thought that there was an option to recalibrate specific faders individually but it might have been a misconception.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2023, 06:15 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,220
Default Re: Fader in D-Command goes only up to -77.6dB in Pro Tools when pushed all the way u

There was. Don't have a D-Command anymore. But it was like you put it in the mode and then moved the fader to the lowest and then the highest position and then finally to 0.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-2023, 06:17 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 1,152
Default Re: Fader in D-Command goes only up to -77.6dB in Pro Tools when pushed all the way u

If recalibrating doesn't bring it back to normal functioning try swapping it with the fader next to it and see if the problem moves with the fader or stays with the slot.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
https://linktr.ee/wilburland
M1MAX Mac Studio OS 14.4.1, PT2024.3, HDX, S1/Dock
M1 PRO MacBook Pro OS 14.4.1, PT2024.3, BabyFacePro FS
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2023, 04:00 AM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: Fader in D-Command goes only up to -77.6dB in Pro Tools when pushed all the way u

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
If recalibrating doesn't bring it back to normal functioning try swapping it with the fader next to it and see if the problem moves with the fader or stays with the slot.

I did swap the fader (see my initial post).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2023, 04:31 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 1,152
Default Re: Fader in D-Command goes only up to -77.6dB in Pro Tools when pushed all the way u

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonis View Post
I did swap the fader (see my initial post).
My suggestion was to swap it with the one next to it just in case the one that you got as a replacement isn't functioning properly. I have received non-functioning parts before.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
https://linktr.ee/wilburland
M1MAX Mac Studio OS 14.4.1, PT2024.3, HDX, S1/Dock
M1 PRO MacBook Pro OS 14.4.1, PT2024.3, BabyFacePro FS
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-13-2023, 04:33 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 1,152
Default Re: Fader in D-Command goes only up to -77.6dB in Pro Tools when pushed all the way u

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonis View Post
I did swap the fader (see my initial post).
My suggestion was to swap it with the one next to it just in case the one that you got as a replacement isn't functioning properly. I have received non-functioning parts before.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
https://linktr.ee/wilburland
M1MAX Mac Studio OS 14.4.1, PT2024.3, HDX, S1/Dock
M1 PRO MacBook Pro OS 14.4.1, PT2024.3, BabyFacePro FS
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-13-2023, 04:04 AM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: Fader in D-Command goes only up to -77.6dB in Pro Tools when pushed all the way u

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
There was. Don't have a D-Command anymore. But it was like you put it in the mode and then moved the fader to the lowest and then the highest position and then finally to 0.
Ah, if how to do this ever springs to mind again do let me know!

From my end, I upgraded the firmware of the desk, hit the recal button a few times and swapped the fader. It must be something else. The fader board possibly?

But funnily, after having done all that the fader can go up to -72.7dB!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I create an 8 fader custom group on an 8 fader d command? [email protected] ICON & C|24 2 12-21-2020 08:56 AM
D-Command ES + Fader Madule Fader Problems FedericoF ICON & C|24 11 05-24-2013 04:27 PM
FS 24 Fader D Command puffin Buy & Sell 0 06-14-2012 07:55 AM
40 fader D-Command! RichN ICON & C|24 8 10-22-2008 04:50 PM
Anyone here get an 8 fader D-Command instead of a C|24? banana boy ICON & C|24 0 05-25-2007 06:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com