Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2011, 11:25 PM
jeshuaew jeshuaew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somerville, Ma
Posts: 4
Default Can I sell my Mbox 3 and keep Pro Tools?

I currently own Pro Tools 8 Le with plans to crossgrade to 9 soon. With 9 I can use different hardware and won't have much use for my Mbox anymore. Is this possible?

Much appreciated, Jeshua
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2011, 12:36 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,137
Default Re: Can I sell my Mbox 3 and keep Pro Tools?

Of course. Just specify that your Mbox 3 comes without the software when you sell it.

I am selling my old Mbox 2 Pro this way.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2011, 03:43 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Can I sell my Mbox 3 and keep Pro Tools?

MBox 2 and MBox 3 are two different situations...

According to the information on the Avid website, the software follows the hardware on the MBox 2 and the MBox 3 which shipped with an 8.x version. If you sell one of these Mboxes, you must include all of the software that originally came with the unit along with any paid upgrades to that software.

Avid may let you get away with selling the software and hardware separately, but it does violate the license agreement.

And while Avid hasn't specifically addressed it, since you can buy the MBox 3 without software and PT 9 separately, logic would dictate that you could also sell the hardware and software separately.
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-26-2011, 06:00 AM
formfunction formfunction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: Can I sell my Mbox 3 and keep Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
MBox 2 and MBox 3 are two different situations...

According to the information on the Avid website, the software follows the hardware on the MBox 2 and the MBox 3 which shipped with an 8.x version. If you sell one of these Mboxes, you must include all of the software that originally came with the unit along with any paid upgrades to that software.

Avid may let you get away with selling the software and hardware separately, but it does violate the license agreement.

And while Avid hasn't specifically addressed it, since you can buy the MBox 3 without software and PT 9 separately, logic would dictate that you could also sell the hardware and software separately.
he is simply selling a piece of hardware that has no upgrade path. It is done everyday. No mention of selling software separately. The new owner would be able to use PT8 with the hardware. Just let the new owner know that the PT9 upgrade is not a future option, although he could buy the full version. ff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If I buy this Mbox/Pro Tools 9 bundle can I sell Pro Tools and keep the Mbox? risemymuffins Pro Tools 10 4 02-19-2013 05:07 PM
Sell and unregister mbox pro 3 michaelc22 macOS 11 10-20-2012 09:46 PM
If I want to sell my Mbox 2 mini with Pro Tools LE 8? Wardove04 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-18-2011 07:10 AM
Upgraded to PT9. Now, how do i sell my Mbox 2 Pro and PT8 LE? jorelpogi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-02-2011 06:33 AM
Anyone have a MBOX they would sell me? *DELETED* Swaphappy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-23-2004 12:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com