Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2011, 01:04 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,361
Default PCI-X to PCIe Exchange is Back (!)

Just got this note from Tekserve in NYC:

Quote:
I just wanted to let everyone know that we were informed today that Avid has brought back the Pro Tools HD Cross Grade program for changing out your older PCI-X HD system to a newer PCIe platform....This will be only available for a limited time so I wouldn't wait if you are considering an upgrade.
I personally don't need it, but I know a lot of people here who wanted it. I suppose they discovered some dusty old Accel chips they'd forgotten about in the closet.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2011, 03:01 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,724
Default Re: PCI-X to PCIe Exchange is Back (!)

Very confusing politics.
__________________
PTHDn 2022.6 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2011, 03:30 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,728
Default Re: PCI-X to PCIe Exchange is Back (!)

They now give you two PCIe Accel cards instead of one older PCI card just to keep you on TDM.
This is my joke of course.And I have some odd humor sense, others say...
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2022.4 Ultimate ● macOS Mojave 10.14.6
MacPro 2 x 2.93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon ● 64 GB RAM
MTRX Studio + DADman 5.5.02 + MOM ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2011, 10:27 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,361
Default Re: PCI-X to PCIe Exchange is Back (!)

My real guess is that the unreleased, super-duper Pro Tools HD/Thunderbolt system is delayed and they need to keep the masses happy until then.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2011, 10:42 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,724
Default Re: PCI-X to PCIe Exchange is Back (!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
My real guess is that the unreleased, super-duper Pro Tools HD/Thunderbolt system is delayed and they need to keep the masses happy until then.
Bringing back the cross-grade will confuse the hesitant PCI-X owners even more and the ones that gave up and went for the PCI-X to HD-Native downgrade just a few weeks ago are maybe pretty upset now?
__________________
PTHDn 2022.6 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2011, 10:45 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,081
Default Re: PCI-X to PCIe Exchange is Back (!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
My real guess is that the unreleased, super-duper Pro Tools HD/Thunderbolt system is delayed and they need to keep the masses happy until then.
Or.... they have a load of worthless 10 year old technology to get rid of?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-10-2011, 10:46 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,361
Default Re: PCI-X to PCIe Exchange is Back (!)

For most, I think PCI-X to HD-Native is not a downgrade. I have a much easier time managing big sessions natively now that I don't have to fight TDM. Everything is faster and smoother.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-10-2011, 10:51 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,081
Default Re: PCI-X to PCIe Exchange is Back (!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
For most, I think PCI-X to HD-Native is not a downgrade. I have a much easier time managing big sessions natively now that I don't have to fight TDM. Everything is faster and smoother.
+1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-10-2011, 02:11 PM
Stuart P. Stuart P. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Hollywood, CA USA
Posts: 841
Default Re: PCI-X to PCIe Exchange is Back (!)

Yet another strategic blunder by Avid. The wheels are coming off, it would seem. It certainly appears as though they're trying to rip off their customer base as fast as they can before the ship sinks. Great plan, if you are an exec who is designing a golden parachute for yourself.

Oh well... glad I'm fully divested except for the software. I encourage you all to just dump the stuff and go native. I mean, seriously Avid? You want to force your customers to cough up thousands of dollars for a non-upgrade of a card that cost you $25? Nice. Oh wait, there's more? You want to do this on basically right before you release ANOTHER system that those same users will cough up thousands more for?

AND you're actively trying to terrorize your customers into buying this stuff by simply refusing to communicate your plans and goals as a company, and purposefully making these heavily invested users to wonder if they will be left completely behind? Basically screwing all these good hard working people out of their money, for nothing more than short-term greed?

Good grief, Avid.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-10-2011, 02:33 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,081
Default Re: PCI-X to PCIe Exchange is Back (!)

Said it before, will probably say it again.... Avid will only listen if people talk with their feet and move over to something like Nuendo.

Pro Tools 9 was their chance to show they changed and it worked... for about 3 months.

Oh, and are HD cards REALLY worth as much as $25 these days?! I thought it was about $10.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ideascale: Vote for HD Native PCIe card to Thunderbolt Exchange nst7 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 11-04-2013 10:10 AM
pci to pcie hardware exchange? 68topls Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 12-06-2009 12:49 PM
The exchange-to-PCIe pricelist is up now. GL Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 94 12-20-2005 07:51 AM
Digi! About hardware exchange programs to PCIe bad jitter Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-29-2005 11:47 AM
MIX - HD exchange is back Vaphoron Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 10-25-2004 03:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com