Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2010, 10:13 PM
toejam34 toejam34 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Default Error message when closing Pro Tools 8 M Powered 8.0.3 cs1

I am unable to close pro tools be cause the error message reads Access Violation Occurred, unable to read location 0x00000004 at address 0x069B16FB in module Protools.dll. Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2010, 11:56 AM
YoRugMan YoRugMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: never too far from a PC
Posts: 807
Default Re: Error message when closing Pro Tools 8 M Powered 8.0.3 cs1

Make sure you've installed the absolute latest drivers for your motherboard.

The most common reason behind this error is to do with not having the latest drivers installed for something, incompatible or incorrect drivers, and in worse cases hardware problems (memory modules NQR for the motherboard and so on).

Get all the correct latest drivers installed.

Once you've done that, get back to us.


.
__________________
"Well, of course, their requests for subsidies was not Paraguayan in and of it is as it were the United States government would never have if the president, our president, had not and as far as I know thats the way it will always be. Is that clear?"- Chevy Chase, Spies Like Us.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2010, 01:45 PM
toejam34 toejam34 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Error message when closing Pro Tools 8 M Powered 8.0.3 cs1

All my drivers are up to date
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2010, 11:47 AM
YoRugMan YoRugMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: never too far from a PC
Posts: 807
Default Re: Error message when closing Pro Tools 8 M Powered 8.0.3 cs1

Which Windows are you using?

If it's not too much trouble for you, I'd recommend being on Windows XP SP3, and using PT 8.0.1cs1 - NOT 8.0.3+


.
__________________
"Well, of course, their requests for subsidies was not Paraguayan in and of it is as it were the United States government would never have if the president, our president, had not and as far as I know thats the way it will always be. Is that clear?"- Chevy Chase, Spies Like Us.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2010, 02:50 PM
toejam34 toejam34 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Error message when closing Pro Tools 8 M Powered 8.0.3 cs1

Vista 32bit SP2 - I seem to only get the error message when I remove the dongle in mid-session. If I leave it in there there seems to be no issues cropping up. Previously, I removed the dongle to free up a USB port.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2010, 02:54 PM
Shatzer Shatzer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 582
Default Re: Error message when closing Pro Tools 8 M Powered 8.0.3 cs1

Quote:
Originally Posted by toejam34 View Post
Vista 32bit SP2 - I seem to only get the error message when I remove the dongle in mid-session. If I leave it in there there seems to be no issues cropping up. Previously, I removed the dongle to free up a USB port.
Well thats your problem. NEVER remove the dongle in session.
__________________
www.mix-off.com
Free multitrack audio files!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-14-2010, 03:06 PM
toejam34 toejam34 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: Error message when closing Pro Tools 8 M Powered 8.0.3 cs1

Good to know. Do not remove dongle seems to be one of the unwritten laws that I've learned the hard way.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
strange error message on closing Pt11 a7bull Pro Tools 11 2 02-09-2014 11:48 AM
Pro Tools closing mid session, no error message Jon Con macOS 3 07-31-2012 03:12 PM
Error When Closing PT8 M-Powered TwoEdgedSword Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 07-31-2011 09:28 PM
error message when closing PT8 sunnryze Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 7 01-01-2011 06:55 PM
New Pro Tools M-Powered Error Message RichrdC Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 05-20-2009 03:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com