Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-17-2007, 04:17 AM
Che_Guitarra Che_Guitarra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 323
Default CPU overloading

I've got some PT sessions generally consisting of around 10 audio tracks and 2 MIDI tracks (Strike and Velvet) On each of the audio tracks i'm running a channel strip plug-in... but I have a query

My computer is often presenting a dialog box saying the CPU is overloading - having had a lot of problems with this computer before I was wondering if this seems about right or if it seems a bit unusual. My computer is an iMac 2.33 core 2 duo CPU w/ 2Gig RAM and I record to an external HD... a pretty fast ol' machine by any standards. I used to be able to record a lot more tracks with plug-ins on my old PC (although I used Cubase at the time), so i'm wondering if maybe there's still a bug to fix in my machine?

I'm asking this as I want to expand PT with the add-on that brings up the track count... but if i'm maxing using PT LE at half of it's capacity I don't see the point. I only ever really use 2 plug-ins - the Nomad Factory SC226 channel strip and the Line6 Gearbox, so it's not like each track has 5 different plug-ins going at once, usually 1 - 2 max.

I'm not sure what I should be expecting as far as CPU capacity is concerned, but I didn't think i'd be hitting the ceiling so easily.

Any thoughts?
__________________
A quality equipment list isn't nearly as impressive as quality results
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2007, 05:40 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: CPU overloading

I can't tell you about Gear Box but Strike and Velvet are known to be HUGE CPU hogs.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2007, 01:36 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,009
Default Re: CPU overloading

I would try doubling your RAM.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2007, 07:54 PM
Che_Guitarra Che_Guitarra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 323
Default Re: CPU overloading

Really, more RAM? I already have 2 Gig RAM and was told i'd be unlikely to use it all... that sucks!

Are there any other tips? I'm currently bouncing in groups then 'de-activating' tracks, but surely there has to be better options than this? I did notice after de-activating Strike tracks the CPU load almost halved though!
__________________
A quality equipment list isn't nearly as impressive as quality results
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU overloading PT7.4 CS2 and MP eddiewes Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 03-09-2008 03:46 AM
Overloading DIGI 002 GTBannah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-14-2007 10:08 AM
Overloading CPU That Once Was Fine... Brian Storm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-08-2007 11:45 PM
preamps overloading BruceBaklarian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-13-2004 09:23 PM
PCI OVERLOADING OHENEBA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-17-2003 07:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com