Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2006, 12:04 PM
Norcaldude2003 Norcaldude2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Default Midi Controllers, Protools LE 7.0, and hell.

Okay, so here is the situation. i am a novice, everyone keeps sending me links to random forums, and i can't get an exact answer.

I have an oxygen 8 midi controller. all the drivers are updated, and i can access it in protools. i set up a midi track, and i can see the signal. when i hit the buttons, you can see the signal go up and down in the fader. i can't hear anything though, it lets me load patches sometimes, but i can't hear anything. when i push record it writes data, but yet, i still can't hear anything.

my controller is named digidesign 1. I'm running protools 7.0 w/ factory bundle through an mbox 2.

what I/O's do i run to hear something? do i have to set up a new track? i know this is begginer stuff, but i just cant seem to find an answer, how do i route everything up so i can hear it? If i can get a step by step way to set up each channel, it would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2006, 01:04 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Midi Controllers, Protools LE 7.0, and hell.

Which device are you trying to use to actually produce sound? I may be off, but isn't Oxygen 8 just a controller?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2006, 01:20 PM
Norcaldude2003 Norcaldude2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Midi Controllers, Protools LE 7.0, and hell.

yeah its a controller, when i run it through a midi channel, you have to load patch files, im not sure what to load, or actually just produce a sound. how do i do it? there are no plugins when i run it through a midi channel. but i still get a signal. just hearing the stuff is a problem...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2006, 01:55 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Midi Controllers, Protools LE 7.0, and hell.

Ok, so you've got one midi track created? Now you must create a stereo aux and insert a virtual instrument plug-in on this track. Then, you route the output of your midi track (controller) to the plug-in. When you click on the midi output box a list of the available plug-ins shows. So, if you've inserted Ivory (piano) in the aux track, then Ivory will show as an available "destination" for the midi coming from your controller.
I'm on HD, but I'm sure some LE guy can correct me.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi Predifined options in Peripherals\Midi Controllers menu RuffinMedia macOS 3 03-04-2015 04:54 PM
MIDI Virtual Ports not showing up in MIDI Controllers (8.0.5) emiliojazz Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 02-18-2013 12:03 PM
Controllers For Protools HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-29-2010 06:06 AM
Changing midi Controllers in Protools Rob Navitskas Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 05-04-2006 07:48 PM
Usb Midi controllers, Protools LE 7.0 and hell. Norcaldude2003 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-16-2006 08:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com