Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2013, 02:59 PM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,208
Default Serious PT 11 bug, beware

Just a head's up. I'm told Avid is aware and this will be fixed in 11.1, but for anyone who lassos regions with the grabber tool, beware.

If you lasso a series of regions, and move them to another set of tracks, in about 30% of the cases, maybe more, regions will be dropped or truncated.

This seriously bit me the other day moving large pre dubs of material around. Started to see pieces missing.

If you move one by one, the regions are fine. Supposedly even selecting them one by one is OK, but using the lasso to drag a box around a group, and you're pretty much hosed.

So just a heads up, be careful with the lasso in PT11!!

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2013, 11:29 AM
cutmx cutmx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3
Default Re: Serious PT 11 bug, beware

I have the same issue here, which for me as a music editor makes PT11 pretty much useless. I hoped they would have fixed it by now but it doesn't seem too high on the priority list. At this point I only use PT11 for offline bounces... for editing I am back to 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2013, 02:29 PM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,208
Default Re: Serious PT 11 bug, beware

It's kinda staggering that a bug like that could even make it into a release, let alone the .03 release.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2013, 05:09 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,600
Default Re: Serious PT 11 bug, beware

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimNielsen View Post
It's kinda staggering that a bug like that could even make it into a release, let alone the .03 release.
Not staggering at all to me since there are MANY users that simply don't use the Object Grabber, let alone the Object Grabber only in lasso mode.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2013, 06:57 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,687
Default Re: Serious PT 11 bug, beware

Can this bug be nailed down more specifically, like
HDX/TDM/...,
moving clips longer than soandso seconds,
lassoing clips in soandso many tracks,
lassoing more than soandso clips alltogether,
in interleaved sessions, in 96 kHz sessions, ... ,
since I am not experiencing this (ITB, PT 11.0.2 HD, but no Avid hardware/interface) although trying hard to replicate ?
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2013, 07:07 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,600
Default Re: Serious PT 11 bug, beware

Quote:
Originally Posted by joachim View Post
Can this bug be nailed down more specifically, like
HDX/TDM/...,
moving clips longer than soandso seconds,
lassoing clips in soandso many tracks,
lassoing more than soandso clips alltogether,
in interleaved sessions, in 96 kHz sessions, ... ,
since I am not experiencing this (ITB, PT 11.0.2 HD, but no Avid hardware/interface) although trying hard to replicate ?
I can repro here on HD Native with a HD I/O 16x16 (highly doubt interface maters though) on 44.1 sessions.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2013, 11:30 AM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,208
Default Re: Serious PT 11 bug, beware

As part of BASIC testing, before you release a piece of software, you'd think someone would take the time to test the most basic tools, and verify that they are still working as is.

Agree it's easily reproducible, wouldn't make any difference the interface, this is clearly an internal PT11 bug.

Hoping for a quick fix.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-19-2013, 07:57 PM
crandallwarren crandallwarren is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 258
Default Re: Serious PT 11 bug, beware

I'm having the same issue. One thing I'm noticing is that when lassoing multiple clips the highlighted region of the timeline represents the entire stroke of the cursor (as opposed to the boundaries of the clips you're selecting). Almost seems like a setting somewhere...

My workaround has been to select my first clip and then use shift+tab to select the remaining clips in the sequence I want to move. But its a serious time kill.

It would be great if someone from avid could jump in and let us know what the deal is!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-19-2013, 08:18 PM
Stuart P. Stuart P. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Hollywood, CA USA
Posts: 841
Default Re: Serious PT 11 bug, beware

The deal is that you're beta testing a product you paid top dollar for, to root out bugs that should have been caught long ago.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-20-2013, 02:13 AM
Stuart P. Stuart P. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Hollywood, CA USA
Posts: 841
Default Re: Serious PT 11 bug, beware

Well, we can look at it multiple ways. People in my particular market would gladly trade some of the whizz bang features for stability and bug-free performance. If you're ok with the way Avid is approaching it, fantastic. I'm just not experimental enough with things like that to find the "let's ship it before it's ready" philosophy to be worth my time or dollars. To each his own, I guess.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beware The CPU Throttling Brian Storm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-16-2007 05:58 AM
New Driver-Beware! LoZion Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 04-05-2006 05:51 PM
Beware of DUY RonB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 03-03-2006 02:17 PM
LaCie - BEWARE.... cmaynes Post - Surround - Video 38 03-01-2006 06:04 PM
beware of virus Chris Scott 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-13-2002 09:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com