Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2007, 05:59 PM
AlanTide AlanTide is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11
Default New to Pro Tools. A few questions please.

I am trying to understand this Pro Tools stuff. Am I understanding correctly when I say that in essence, Pro Tools HD is really a VERY high end audio card that is installed in your computer that comes with Pro Tools software. This card takes away from having to use your CPU, I would guess. There is no way to get lots of audio into your computer on the HD card so you must purchase a Digidesign I/O like the 192 or something similar. Obviously the Control 24 and Pro Control line of control surfaces are seperate as well. If I am not exactly right, someone please correct me. I will wait for my follow-up questions. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2007, 07:02 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: New to Pro Tools. A few questions please.

that is it in a nut shell
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2007, 07:20 PM
AlanTide AlanTide is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11
Default another couple of questions

The difference in HD and HD3 is basically having 3 HD cards in the same computer? Is there any difference in the actual software? Are files recorded using the Mix Plus or 888 series upward compatible to HD? Finally, do the Audio I/O like the 192, 96i, and the older 888 stuff depend on the audio card (HD card) etc? In other words, a 192 without the Pro Tools card in a computer is pretty useless?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2007, 07:57 AM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,894
Default Re: another couple of questions

Quote:
The difference in HD and HD3 is basically having 3 HD cards in the same computer? Is there any difference in the actual software? Are files recorded using the Mix Plus or 888 series upward compatible to HD? Finally, do the Audio I/O like the 192, 96i, and the older 888 stuff depend on the audio card (HD card) etc? In other words, a 192 without the Pro Tools card in a computer is pretty useless?
Alan,
All TDM & HD system have a "core card". That is a necessary foundation and can be used alone.
As far as numbering goes..the core gets #1. With an additional process card it will become HD2..and so on.
Software is the same for all varieties.
Files recorded with the older generation IO boxes have nothing to do with compatibility, older PT sessions open fine on the HD platform.
In other words, a 192 without the Pro Tools card in a computer is pretty useless? . Yes. They need at least the above mentioned core card to function.
The older 888xx boxes do work stand alone.

hope this helps,
a
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Three Questions about Pro-Tools LE 8! salahadeen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 09-22-2010 09:24 PM
Pro Tools LE QUESTIONS!!!!!???? coleboy95 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-24-2007 09:31 PM
New to Pro Tools. A few questions please. AlanTide General Discussion 0 03-16-2007 05:59 PM
questions about pro tools ae5 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-07-2003 11:04 AM
Pro Tools questions Hisham Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 11-27-2001 08:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com