Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2016, 05:49 AM
Gill Khoury Gill Khoury is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: durban
Posts: 2
Default fast track pro and windows 8.1

My fast track pro ultra works perfectly om my mac and on my computer with windows xp. however my new windows 8.1 pc allows me to install the correct drivers i.e.
version http://cdn.avid.com/AudioDrivers/Win...ack_6.1.12.zip

but it won't recognise the ultra

This link was sent to me by avid. I can pull up the control panel for fast track pro but when i plug my ultra fastrack pro into any of the USB ports it says "hardware not connected". I can see the installed drivers under the sound and game controllers section in the device manger on my pc but windows 8.1 simply won't play ball.

Can anyone help?? I am tearing my hair out. I have updated the drivers internally, that doesn't work either!


Gill
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2016, 06:21 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,022
Default Re: fast track pro and windows 8.1

Do you have the FTP connected to a USB2 or USB3 port? Are you using a usb hub? Have you tested it on another computer?

As much info as you can supply is helpful.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3770 / 24GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Two 2x10 Passive Monitors / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-28-2016, 07:31 AM
Gill Khoury Gill Khoury is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: durban
Posts: 2
Default Re: fast track pro and windows 8.1

hi Joel

Thank you

Ok I am working on an acer extensa N15w4. PC

The operating system is a window 8.1 64 bit. Ive tried all the usb ports to no avail apparently one is a USB 3, here are the specs

Acer Extensa EX2519 Notebook - 15.6'' WXGA Celeron N3050 Processor, 4GB DDR3 Low Voltage Memory, 500GB Hard Drive, DVD-Super Multi DL drive SD Card Reader, 802.11b/g/n + BlueTooth, Acer Crystal Eye HD Webcam, 3-Cell Li-ion Battery | 3-pin, 45W AC Adapter, Windows 8.1 Single Language with Bing,

I can see the control panel for fast track pro and the usb ports power the unit nicely but i cannot get the computer to recognise the unit.

I have tried it on my mac and on ny old windows xp PC and it works perfectly.
I also had it running happily on windows 7.
The drivers downloader perfectly.

Windows 8.1 seems to be a problem
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-29-2016, 09:48 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,022
Default Re: fast track pro and windows 8.1

Make sure you have all the latest drivers installed for the laptop as well - USB3, Intel Chipset etc. I can't find the chipset details anywhere to give a link to them though.

Check Device Manager to make sure no drivers are missing.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3770 / 24GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Two 2x10 Passive Monitors / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-29-2016, 10:01 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,882
Default Re: fast track pro and windows 8.1

Disable USB power management?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-29-2016, 10:34 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,022
Default Re: fast track pro and windows 8.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
Disable USB power management?
Good point, be sure to go through the Opimization Guide: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...oting/en367983

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3770 / 24GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools 2021 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Two 2x10 Passive Monitors / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast Track Pro en Windows 10 VAMaresBoy Foro en Español 4 11-13-2016 07:35 AM
Fast Track Pro and Windows 10 Martek FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 10 09-12-2016 01:03 PM
Audio glitches with Fast Track Ultra on Windows 10 after updating Windows 10 GregS FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 6 12-25-2015 04:40 PM
PT 7.1 et Fast Track Pro on Windows XP PIerrotlefou Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 03-30-2006 07:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com