Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-03-2022, 10:49 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Avid Link credentials issue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DDmUSA View Post
I am using a local account for my Windows desktop. The Avid Link program is not accepting my local user account to allow the express install. Why?
Does that account have admin privileges? I think Link needs to be admin to do express installs.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-24-2022, 04:57 PM
GNA GNA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Avid Link credentials issue?

I am using an Windows 10 administrator account, as confirmed by Windows 10, and I am using the email address associated with that admin account, as Windows 10 shows in the user profile. I have tried using the password that I used to access my PC and the password that I use to login with that same account via my Microsoft login, but Avid Link claims the credentials are not valid. If they're not valid, then how is Microsoft honoring them when I sign into the account with those exact credentials from the user profile links?

Now I'm having to go through the manual Avid Link installation process, so this new and supposedly convenient way to install the software has done nothing but make it far more time-consuming and inefficient.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-24-2022, 05:24 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,403
Default Re: Avid Link credentials issue?

Why bother? Lots of advice from experienced users here to just uninstall this bloatware.

Avid Link does nothing to manage third party plugins... and that is where users often have more problems. And I don't trust it not to mess up Avid stuff or not to be a bloatware software that especially increases the security attack surface. If I was in a large studio/corp network that stuff would be absolutely mandatory to uninstall.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 06-24-2022 at 05:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-24-2022, 05:49 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Earth
Posts: 9,946
Default Re: Avid Link credentials issue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GNA View Post
...Avid Link claims the credentials are not valid....
Welcome to the community.

Avid Link needs the Administrator User Name which can be found in Settings/Your Info. Obviously don't want to post that here, so I'll start a support case to get your info. Please watch for an email.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-24-2022, 06:00 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Earth
Posts: 9,946
Default Re: Avid Link credentials issue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob71 View Post
I am having the same issue...
Welcome to the community.

Avid Link needs the Administrator User Name which can be found in Settings/Your Info. I started a support case to get your info. Please look for an email, thanks!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-13-2022, 12:20 PM
cmhawke cmhawke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 62
Default Re: Avid Link credentials issue?

After testing, I confirmed the culprit. A local password is needed. Not a PIN, not a Microsoft account password.

On most PCs you can set a local password while still signed into a Microsoft account. On Windows 11, this is done at Settings > Accounts > Sign-in options.

But on Microsoft Surface, this doesn't seem possible; you either need to be signed into a Microsoft account and forgo the ability to set a local password, or switch to a local account. On Windows 11, this can be done at Settings > Accounts > Your info. Be sure to backup the BitLocker key before switching.

Either way, once you have a local password, the default [5-letter] username and local password should work in the Avid Link form to enable express install.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-13-2022, 12:33 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Earth
Posts: 9,946
Default Re: Avid Link credentials issue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by connorhawke View Post
After testing, I confirmed the culprit. A local password is needed. Not a PIN, not a Microsoft account password...
Thank you for the followup.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-24-2022, 09:42 AM
Sebastian.va Sebastian.va is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: kottara chowki, mangalore
Posts: 22
Default Re: Avid Link credentials issue?

I am too having this issue...checked for resetting the local account password. it isnt working. Can jeffro help me too?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-24-2022, 11:29 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,810
Default Re: Avid Link credentials issue?

Hi Sebastian,

This is already being handled via Case 04468487

Thank you,
Tope
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebastian.va View Post
I am too having this issue...checked for resetting the local account password. it isnt working. Can jeffro help me too?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-29-2022, 11:30 PM
cmhawke cmhawke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 62
Default Re: Avid Link credentials issue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by connorhawke View Post
After testing, I confirmed the culprit. A local password is needed. Not a PIN, not a Microsoft account password.

On most PCs you can set a local password while still signed into a Microsoft account. On Windows 11, this is done at Settings > Accounts > Sign-in options.

But on Microsoft Surface, this doesn't seem possible; you either need to be signed into a Microsoft account and forgo the ability to set a local password, or switch to a local account. On Windows 11, this can be done at Settings > Accounts > Your info. Be sure to backup the BitLocker key before switching.

Either way, once you have a local password, the default [5-letter] username and local password should work in the Avid Link form to enable express install.
Well, this did work the first time. I was certain it was the definitive solution.

But after switching back to a Microsoft account (to troubleshoot something; I forgot what), then switching back again to a local account, the local username and password no longer work. I went so far as to clear the app's cache, quit Avid Link, remove the PIN, remove and re-add a local password, and restart the PC.

Btw, on my first two manual upgrade attempts to PT 2022.7 via Avid Link I got the below errors. Eventually installed it fine after switching to a local account and clearing cache (not sure if either helped), but thought I'd note it here in case related.


[Window Title]
Windows Installer

[Main Instruction]
Error applying transforms. Verify that the specified transform paths are valid.

[OK]


[window title]
InstallShield Wizard

[main instruction]
Error reading setup initialization file.

[ok]


Meanwhile, attempting to download the new demo session (Low Roar) just crashes Avid Link. I don't currently have any other plugin updates pending, so not sure if those would crash too.

But it's definitely a wonky app.

First and foremost, let's see if anyone can figure out, once and for all, how to resolve the false positive PC login credentials error.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite link issue yop22 Pro Tools 2 03-31-2022 02:00 PM
Can't link my Avid master account to the Avid community IuliaC Licensing & Accounts 8 02-25-2020 05:01 AM
Avid Application Manager or Avid Link mojohos Windows 2 02-12-2020 06:11 AM
Avid Link: possible ProTools update issue ahead? dvdr macOS 1 01-26-2019 09:46 AM
Venue link issue digidesigner VENUE Live Sound Systems 13 07-19-2011 06:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com