Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2022, 11:17 AM
gwbigfish gwbigfish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: rochester
Posts: 3
Default Sonarworks Reference plugin

Anyone here using this plugin? The plugin is supposed to "neutralize" the frequency response of your headphones or speakers which leads to a more balanced mix result. Before bouncing down the mix though you have to bypass the plugin which in my mind defeats the purpose of using it in the first place. The sound is completely different with the plugin bypassed. Appreciate any thoughts you might have
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2022, 11:21 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,670
Default Re: Sonarworks Reference plugin

If you don’t bypass the plug-in, you’re rendering the EQ curve to your audio file. That means those changes it’s made to correct your room deficiencies would be permanently rendered to your audio.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2022, 10:37 AM
indeloon85 indeloon85 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 141
Default Re: Sonarworks Reference plugin

Check out Rogue Amoeba's Soundsource. I use sonarworks but not within the session. I will use in within Soundsource which allows you to monitor the plugin and bounce the material without the plugin affecting the outputs in Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2022, 05:50 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,670
Default Sonarworks Reference plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by indeloon85 View Post
Check out Rogue Amoeba's Soundsource. I use sonarworks but not within the session. I will use in within Soundsource which allows you to monitor the plugin and bounce the material without the plugin affecting the outputs in Pro Tools.

Or you could just set up your Pro Tools session accordingly and use a seperate monitoring buss and not select that when bouncing your audio.

But that’s not what the OP (who seems to have vanished) is worried about. They don’t seem to understand the point of the correction.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2022, 09:49 PM
indeloon85 indeloon85 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 141
Default Re: Sonarworks Reference plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Or you could just set up your Pro Tools session accordingly and use a seperate monitoring buss and not select that when bouncing your audio.

But that’s not what the OP (who seems to have vanished) is worried about. They don’t seem to understand the point of the correction.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
hahaha! Good point
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2022, 06:31 AM
MrDibS MrDibS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 105
Default Re: Sonarworks Reference plugin

One thing to note about even having a second monitor bus:

This will induce latency (even a bit on zero latency mode) and will require turning off delay compensation or deactivating the plugin when recording even though it is not in your main output bus.

I just thought it was worth mentioning. It’s the kind of path you add to your setup without thinking about the latency and then wind up pulling your hair out later.
__________________
Mac Pro 2013 12 Core Trashcan, 64 gigs, OSX 10.14.6
PT HD Ultimate 2021.12 HDX with Focusrite Red 8pre, Rednet 2, R1, Dock + S3.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sonarworks Reference problem Danny_79 AAX Plug-ins 12 05-05-2021 12:33 PM
Sonarworks Reference 4 - Digi 002r Issues Nish FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 11 07-25-2020 10:33 AM
FS: Sonarworks Reference 4 $145 crandallwarren Buy & Sell 1 05-24-2020 06:46 AM
AAE -30001 error w/ Sonarworks reference 4 stephen.r.banville Pro Tools 2019 11 10-17-2019 07:32 AM
Sonarworks Reference 4 ASIO Wawili_Sound Pro Tools 2018 2 01-22-2019 11:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com